An overwhelming majority of the time, PGA Tour players make the game look ridiculously easy.
But, every now and again, they hit that one shot that the rest of the world can relate to -- the kind where, as you stare at the television in disbelief, you say, "Hey! I've done that!"
And that, friends, was the fate of one Bud Cauley on Saturday during the third round of the Valero Texas Open.
Playing the par-4 12th hole at the TPC San Antonio Oaks Course, Cauley just missed the green with his approach shot.
Playing a delicate chip from some sticky rough, Cauley made contact with the ball not once, but twice -- once when he intended to strike it and a second time on the follow through:
Unlike the majority of us, Cauley cleaned up his bogey from the fringe to limit the damage. He would shoot a 2-over 74 for the day and enters the final found tied for fourth, just two off the lead.
For those wondering, Cauley incurred a one-stroke penalty for the double hit, under Rule 14-4: if a player strikes the ball more than once during a stroke, the player must count the stroke and adds a penalty stroke for two strokes in all. The player would play the ball as it lies.