Fridays just seem to drag on in the summer months, don't they?
Specifically if you're stuck at your desk, counting down the seconds until your weekend begins and you're able to go enjoy that glorious sunshine.
Well, to help you pass the time, I've got a gem of a video clip for you.
The itself isn't anything new. It's been on YouTube for years, but has resurfaced on Twitter a lot lately.
So, here it is. Check out what happens when Aussie golfer Mike Clayton missed a short putt:
What's the ruling on that? For the answer, we turn to this excerpt from the book "999 Questions on the Rules of Golf" by Barry Rhodes (according to his website, www.barryrhodes.com, in March 2008, Rhodes "became the first person to achieve a 100% correct mark on the public Advanced Rules of Golf Course examination, run by the UK Professional Golfers Association (PGA)."):
Q.537: After missing a short putt Mark throws his club in the air in frustration. Unfortunately, he doesn’t catch it cleanly on the way down and it falls onto his ball, moving it away from the hole. What is the ruling?
Answer: Mark is penalised one stroke for moving his ball in play and must replace his ball. Rule 18-2a.
Note: If equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move the player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replaced.
Rhodes further explains that Clayton did not incur further penalty when the ball his his arm.
"Decision 1-4/12 confirms that when a single act results in one Rule being breached more than once the player only incurs a single penalty," he wrote.
The entire explanation by Rhodes is an interesting read that you should check out here.
We hope this never happens to you!
Do blondes have more fun? Michelle Wie is going to find out.
Wie, the 2014 U.S. Women's Open champ, has been suffering through hip injuries all year. Because of the injury, she was forced to withdraw from the Ricoh Women's British Open two weeks ago.
So what do you do when you're bored and unable to work on your craft?
For Wie, the answer is this...
So what do you think?
Bored while sidelined with a hip injury that forced her withdrawal from the Ricoh Women's British Open recently, Michelle Wie decided to go for a new look.
For the third consecutive day, world No. 1 Rory McIlroy has dropped another big hint that he's going to give it a go next week in the 97th PGA Championship at Whistling Straits.
Two days after posting a video to Instagram of his workout and one day after posting a photo and a video to Instagram of his healing ankle and swing with a driver, respectively, McIlroy posted this on Friday morning:
It's not just a great-looking private jet. It's also a message with emojis left for us to decipher.
We're not rocket scientists in these parts, but upon examination it sure looks like McIlroy is telling us he has boarded a flight in Portugal headed to the U.S., he's happy about it (the thumbs up), we can't make out the next two emojis, but that last one of a golf flag has us pretty excited.
As I wrote in this space yesterday -- I can't wait until Rory is back on the course, but I just hope he isn't coming back too soon. For golfers of his caliber, missing a major championship must be like a child having to miss Christmas morning.
If there are any more hints forthcoming, we'll keep you posted.
Rory McIlroy is either going to Whistling Straits to defend his PGA Championship title next week, or he's a master at teasing the world of golf.
Just yesterday, McIlroy posted a video to Instagram of a workout while putting all of his weight on his injured left ankle -- an injury he suffered while playing soccer in early July that resulted in a total rupture of a ligament in his ankle.
Not long after posting a photo of the progress his ankle has made from 4 1/2 weeks and 3 1/2 weeks (as you'll see below, 4 1/2 weeks looks like someone stuffed a small cantaloupe in his ankle), McIlroy also posted a video of himself ripping a driver.
A photo posted by Rory McIlroy (@rorymcilroy) on
A video posted by Rory McIlroy (@rorymcilroy) on
So what are we to make of all this? Why would McIlroy be posting it if he's not playing next week?
I, for one, am delighted to see his recovery appears to be going incredibly well. That said, I sure hope he's not rushing himself back from injury. Hopefully he's learned from Tiger Woods that, ultimately, that can only make things worse.
If you're reading this, Rory, we can't wait for you to get back on the course, but please only come back when you're 100 percent!