Following the Presidents Cup, Matt Kuchar decided to stay on the other side of the world, traveling from South Korea to Fiji for the Fiji International on the PGA Tour of Australasia.
On an incredibly windy day at Natadola Bay Golf Course Sigatoka in Thursday's first round, the Golf Gods rewarded Kuchar for playing the tournament.
Check out what happens as Kuchar lines up a short double bogey putt on the second hole:
That's right... the wind blew the ball in the hole for bogey -- the last shot Kuchar played. Kuchar finished the day with a 2-over 72 and is currently tied for second.
Kuchar did not have to replace his ball. He was protected by Decision 18-1/12 and Decision 20-3d/1 in the Rules of Golf. To summarize, Decision 18-1/12 states that the wind is not considered an "outside agency." If the wind blows a player's ball, he or she should play from the new position. If the wind blows the ball into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his or her last stroke played.
Decision 20-3d/1 benifited Kuchar as well, because it states that even a ball that has been replaced ("marked") on a green -- if at rest on the spot it was placed -- would be played from the new location if the wind caused it to move. For Kuchar, the new location was in the hole, hence no need to play another shot.
Lucky break for Kuch indeed.