Golf Buzz

June 14, 2014 - 12:57pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Twitter/@missyjonjones
Unfortunately for all of us, the most interesting man in golf -- Miguel Angel Jimenez -- missed the cut at the U.S. Open. But he was at Pinehurst No. 2 on Saturday doing some shopping.

Unfortunately for all of us, the most interesting man in golf -- Miguel Angel Jimenez -- missed the cut at the U.S. Open.

However, he was still there on Saturday, checking out the merchandise tent and, apparently, doing some shopping.

Here's a photo that was captured of Jimenez shopping for some Pinehurst No. 2 gear: 

June 14, 2014 - 11:20am
mark.aumann's picture
Hunter Mahan
USA Today Images
Hunter Mahan accidentally hit Jamie Donaldson's ball during Friday's round of the U.S. Open.

Every amateur has probably had that "whoops" moment when they suddenly realize the ball they just hit isn't theirs. But for it to happen on a stage like the second round of the U.S. Open? That's pretty unusual.

But that's exactly what happened Friday to Hunter Mahan and Jamie Donaldson during the second round at Pinehurst No. 2. They use the same brand of ball, and mark their balls in similar fashion. So despite having the assistance of caddies and marshals, they still committed the cardinal sin of playing the wrong ball.

GOLF BALL MIXUP: Mahan, Donaldson penalized for playing wrong balls

So what's the rule -- and the penalty -- for playing the wrong ball? It falls under Rule 15-3b, according to Bryan Jones, co-vice chairman of the PGA Rules Committee. Here's the official definition:

"If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.

The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making a stroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified.

Strokes made by a competitor with a wrong ball do not count in his score. If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played."

MORE RULES QUESTIONS: What do you do if your ball moves at address?

In the case of Mahan and Donaldson, they realized their mistake once they reached the green, so they were able to go back and play the correct ball from the fairway, albeit after taking a two-stroke penalty.

"In stroke play, the concept is to play your ball from the teeing ground into the hole and you can only switch balls as permitted by the Rules," Jones said. "Examples are if you lose your ball, hit it into the water or it becomes unfit for play, then you may substitute a ball. If a wrong ball is played, the player must correct the error by playing the correct ball.

"Since Hunter and Jamie played each other's balls, each was guilty of playing a wrong ball, each needed to add two penalty strokes to their score on the hole and each of them was required to play the correct ball from the correct spot. The stroke played with the wrong ball did not count in Hunter or Jamie's score."

Interestingly enough, Jones said Rule 12-2 -- which allows a player to lift his ball for identification -- might have saved both players the indignity.

"I did not see the incident so I do not know if the balls were close together but the incident highlights another important Rule, Rule 12-2," Jones said. "This Rule allows a player to lift his ball (with a few procedural requirements) anywhere on the golf course.

"Why does Rule 12-2 exist? To help players avoid a wrong ball penalty. Pretty sure Hunter and Jamie regret not implementing it."

Unfortunately, the gaffe may have cost Mahan a shot at making the cut. With the penalty, he finished with a 72, one shot shy of playing on the weekend.

 

 

 

Frann Quinn and Kevin Kisner at the U.S. Open
USA Today Sports Images
Fran Quinn (l) will get two more rounds with his son on the bag this weekend, while Kevin Kisner hired his father temporarily on Friday at the U.S. Open.

Father's Day isn't until Sunday, but Kevin Kisner and his dad Steve made a little father-son memory on Friday.

Kisner was 8 over and certain to miss the cut in his first U.S. Open when he arrived at No 16, and a double bogey there convinced him to send his regular caddie Duane Bock into the crowd and turn the bib over to his dad for the final few holes.

"At first I was a little concerned about interfering with the group," Steve Kisner said. "One of the guys still had a chance to make the cut and I didn't want to change the flow. But Kevin insisted, and once he insisted I was glad to do it." 

Steve Kisner has caddied for his son a few dozen times before, most recently at a mini-tour event. And the reason for his reluctance initially might have been about more than just bothering the other players.

"You weren't drinking a beer or anything out there, were you?" a reporter asked. 

"Actually I had a couple out there," he admitted. "So I might be a good interview." 

U.S. OPEN: Follow all the action from Pinehurst with our special coverage 

Telling a good story apparently runs in the family. Kevin Kisner and wife Brittany had their first child Monday, leaving Kevin just enough time to drive over from Aiken, South Carolina, and get in a few practice holes. Whatever free time he gained by missing the weekend play at Pinehurst will be devoted to looking after his new daughter – and Steve's fifth grandchild – Kate.  

"Changing diapers before you came here?" someone asked.  

"I got one in and that's it," Kevin Kisner said. "But I'm sure I'm going to get a lot more tonight."  

"Are you pretty good?" came another follow-up.  

"I'm not real sure," Kevin Kisner replied, "but we'll find out."  

Fran Quinn, meanwhile, will get to spend some quality time with his son this weekend. The 49-year-old Web.com Tour player followed his opening 68 with a 74 that left him 2 over and easily inside the cut.

That means he'll get to play two more rounds with 15-year-old son Owen as his caddie. 

"It's the U.S. Open. You go out there ... all the stands are packed, people are cheering for you," Quinn said. "People are rooting for you. People love the story. And, you know, it's pretty neat to see a father playing with his son caddying on the bag on Father's Day weekend." 

The Associated Press contributed this report.

 
June 13, 2014 - 1:11pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Hunter Mahan
USA Today Sports Images
Hunter Mahan and Jamie Donaldson were each assessed a two-shot penalty on Friday for hitting each other's golf ball from the 18th fairway.

As if the U.S. Open isn't hard enough, Hunter Mahan and Jamie Donaldson made it much more difficult on themselves during Friday's second round.

Playing the 18th hole -- their ninth hole of the day -- they both found the fairway... and that's where the trouble began.

Both players were playing a Titleist ProV1x, and failed to properly identify their own ball before hitting their approach shots.

RELATED: U.S. Open leaderboard | Complete U.S. Open coverage

Once they arrived at the green and marked their balls, they realized that they had hit each other's ball onto the green. The returned to the spot of their approach shots to take a penalty drop (a two-shot penalty) and played the hole out from there. Both players made a double-bogey 6.

Had they played out the hole and teed off at No. 1 -- the next hole -- Mahan and Donaldson would have been disqualified.

Here is Rule 15-3:

If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes. The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making a stroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified. Strokes made by a competitor with a wrong ball do not count in his score. If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.

Exception: There is no penalty if a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a water hazard. Any strokes made at a wrong ball moving in water in a water hazard do not count in the competitor's score.

Here are some tweets about the incident:

 

 

 

 

 

 

June 13, 2014 - 12:54pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Kevin Stadler
USA Today Sports Images
Kevin Stadler shot a 2-under 68 in the second round of the U.S. Open on Friday, a round that included a magnificent eagle on the par-4 13th hole.

Kevin Stadler didn't have much to smile about after a 7-over 77 in the first round of the 114th U.S. Open on Thursday.

But on Friday, Stadler had a tremendous bounce-back, firing a 2-under 68, which included this eagle hole-out on the par-4 13th hole:

An eagle on the 13th hole at Pinehurst No. 2 on Friday the 13th? Nice.

Through 36 holes, Stadler is 5-over 145. When he finished his second round, Stadler was tied for 79th. The top 60 and ties will advance to the weekend.

Even if he doesn't make the cut, Stadler will take a special memory away from Pinehurst.

June 13, 2014 - 12:32pm
Posted by:
PGA.com staff
dpurdum's picture
Father's Day golf memories
Reader submitted photo
A father works with his son on the driving range. / Reader submitted photo

By PGA.com, Staff

Heading into Father’s Day weekend, PGA.com asked Facebook fans for their favorite golf course memories with dad. The responses, many including photos, were fantastic.

 

 

 

Some were remarkable.

“My dad didn’t have the use of his legs from age of 3 and only saw me play golf once. I got a cart for us one day and it broke down on the last hill on the 18th hole. He walked the 150 metres in his calipers in summer, a memory I shall never forget. RIP Dad.”– Shane Arthur.

Some made you smile.

“My son watched me make a hole in one this Monday.” – Phillip Werner.

Some recalled life-long lessons.

“Can remember my dad throwing his driver and then telling me wanted to show me how bad it looked to throw clubs.”– Steve Harris

Some were touching.

“Best time of my life was on the golf course with my dad. At his funeral we all got green repair tools with his name on the ball marker. I use it every time I play and know he’s with me on the course. Miss ya dad.” – Tom Schipper

And some made you chuckle.

“My dad was a horrendous golfer at best, however made one of hell of an effort to teach all four of his kids to play golf.

My father was a former caddie at an upscale course in the Pittsburgh area as a high school student and took notice of how many “business transactions” would take place while rounds were being played between club members.

He always told us that ‘you don’t have to be great at golf, I just want you to feel comfortable on the course.’

When I was 15 and my older brother 16 he took us golfing for his birthday. We all hit great drives on #5 at Hidden Valley (PA). When I stepped up to my approach shot he said..”Hold off for a second (5 second pause) your mother and I were talking, (5 second pause) I’m 45 years old and I don’t want to be a grandfather! Do you understand me?”

My brother and I both laughed and said ‘yes.’

That was “THE TALK for us!  I’ll never forget it!”– Max Young

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there. You can read all the Facebook responses below. Or submit your own ...