Golf Buzz

May 23, 2015 - 7:14am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Tommy Fleetwood
European Tour/Twitter
Check out this albatross made by Tommy Fleetwood in the third round of the BMW PGA Championship on Saturday. It's as perfect a second-shot to a par 5 you'll ever see.

An absolute stroke of genius.

That's what this shot was for 24-year-old Englishman Tommy Fleetwood in the third round of the European Tour's BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth on Saturday -- an albatross on the par-5 fourth hole.

RELATED: Incredible golf course sinkhole | Shanks, shanks, shanks | Lincicome trick

Everything about the shot was perfect. Check it out here:

That gorgeous shot -- the third albatross in the history of the tournament -- put Fleetwood at 4 under through four holes and 8 under for the tournament (two off the lead at the time of this post).

Impressively, Fleetwood's playing partner Victor Dubuisson eagled the hole. So, the pair played one hole in 5-under par. That's amazing.


In case you're keeping track at home, the tournament has now featured an ace and an albatross this week. 

Brittany Lincicome
Brittany Lincicome via Instagram
Brittany Lincicome got a sweet reward for pulling off an amazing trick shot.
The LPGA Tour is off this week, but Brittany Lincicome is keeping busy on the course. Her game is in good shape – she won the ANA Inspiration just last month – so she's spending a little time working on trick shots.
Check this one out: She sets a piece of candy on her ball, and takes an easy swing. The ball goes flying and the candy pops up into the air. She takes a couple of steps – and catches the candy in her mouth. Wow!
As if that wasn't impressive enough, she notes on Instagram that she pulled this off on her first try. Double wow!
Check it out:

Candy on top of ball trick. Take 1. Got it Hahahaha. Funny @dewald_gouws @trevthemachoman

A video posted by Brittany Lincicome (@brittany1golf) on

May 22, 2015 - 3:46pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Kevin Na
PGA TOUR Twitter Account
After holing a 20-foot birdie putt at Colonial on Friday, Kevin Na broke out into a celebratory dance.

Sometimes when you're feeling good, you just need to dance.

That's what Kevin Na did after his 20-foot birdie putt dropped on the par-3 13th hole at Colonial in the second round of the Crowne Plaza Invitational on Friday:


Na had the outright lead at 10-under par at the time of this post.

RELATED: Colonial leaderboard | Rory misses BMW PGA cut | Incredible golf course sinkhole

While it was a cool little celebration, it still wasn't the best this week. That honor (?) belongs to the European Tour's Andrew Johnston, who scored an ace in the first round of the BMW PGA Championship and proceeded to call a fan in from outside the ropes and went airborne for a chest bump.

Love Na's enthusiasm though.

May 22, 2015 - 2:19pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Here's a better look at the sinkhole that formed at Top of the Rock in Branson, Missouri on Friday.

It's amazing the incredible, and crazy, stuff you can stumble upon if you spend enough time on Twitter.

Check out this amazing shot of a sinkhole at Top of the Rock/Big Cedar Lodge in Branson, Missouri, that formed this morning:



The Champions Tour was there last month for a team event won by Billy Andrade and Joe Durant.

RELATED: Senior PGA Championship leaderboard | Course tour | Photos | Video

I showed the picture to a Champions Tour media official here at the Senior PGA Championship in French Lick, Ind.

He indicated the sinkhole looks to be on the driving range at the golf resort.

Either way, powerful stuff. This isn't the first time we've seen/heard of a golf course sinkhole.

Back in March of 2013, a sinkhole swallowed a golfer standing in the middle of the fairway on an Illinois course. That golfer escaped with minor injuries.

In January of this year, a sinkhole formed because of a drainpipe issue at Traigh Golf Course in Scotland. 

UPDATE: The Associated Press dug into this story and found that the sinkhole is currently 80 feet wide and 35 feet deep in some places. Evidently, the big sinkhole was created by two separate sinkholes that formed near the entrance to Top of the Rock golf course near the resort town of Branson, Martin MacDonald, conservation director for Bass Pro Shops, told The Associated Press in a telephone interview.

The sinkhole formed on the driving range and will not affect play, MacDonald told the AP.

The AP reports:

Geologists say such sinkholes are fairly common in the Ozarks because of its karst topography, a feature in which water is constantly circulating through bedrock below the ground. That's why the region has so many sinkholes and caves, including Lost Canyon Cave, an attraction at the Big Cedar complex, MacDonald said.

The initial focus Friday was ensuring the safety of the public and facilities, none of which were in danger, geological engineer Gary Pendergrass said. Next week, engineers will conduct a more in-depth investigation to determine the best way to replace the 7,000 cubic feet of material displaced by the hole, he said.

But before the hole is filled, it will be explored if there's anything to learn about karst topography.

"From the Top of the Rock perspective, it's not what you want to have," MacDonald said. "But we'll see if we've got anything unique down there."

This article used content from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network. 

May 22, 2015 - 12:27pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Steve Stricker
Shanks. They're not fun to have, but sometimes they are fun to watch. Like in this video compilation.

In the first round of the 76th Senior PGA Championship presented by KitchenAid on Thursday, we showed you that unfortunate, and incredibly untimely shank by Brian Henninger.

He's far from the first person to ever hit a shank and he surely will not be the last.

RELATED: Senior PGA Championship leaderboard | Course tour | Photos | Video

And for proof that he wasn't the first at the professional level, someone on YouTube took the time to post a compilation video of shanks back in January.

Check it out here:


Having had my fair share of run-ins with the shanks (I once had a case so bad in high school that my father actually took me to an eye doctor), I can honestly say those were some serious, serious hosel rockets.

I especially loved the one from Steve Stricker. Putting the Shot-Tracer on that one made me laugh. 

May 21, 2015 - 12:48pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Boston College Athletics
Brian Butler, a senior-to-be at Boston College, turned down a $10,000 hole-in-one prize in order to keep his NCAA eligibility.

Boston College golfer Brian Butler played in a qualifier on Monday in Wyoming, R.I., for a unique tournament coming June 18, known as the Benrus Open.

The Benrus Open, a par-3 event that will be contested at The Preserve at Boulder Hills, boasts a potential $20 million in cash and prizes. The tournament is open to amateurs, juniors, men, women, professionals and seniors as long as they make the cut in their qualifying round.

One million dollars will be handed out for a hole-in-one during the finals. During qualifying rounds, a hole-in-one is worth $10,000.

Butler aced the 158-yard 18th hole early this week for a 3-over 57 -- good enough for a spot in the finals.

RELATED: PGA Professional driving force behind concept for "Greatest Day in Golf"

However, Butler passed up on the $10,000 prize so not to forfeit his senior season with the Boston College golf team.

"I'm not going to give up my last year of college golf for $10,000," Butler told

I reached out to PGA Professional Troy Pare, Director of Operations at The Preserve.

"We were thrilled to see Brian Butler make a hole in one," Pare said. "But due to NCAA regulations, Brian declined the $10,000 so he could still compete his senior year at Boston College. Brian did earn one of the two final spots for our finals on June 18th. If Brian gets an ace in the finals for $1,000,000, he'll have another decision to make."

Butler declining the prize, as Pare explained, was only due to NCAA rules. The USGA put a new rule in place in recent years that allows golfers to accept hole-in-one prizes without having to relinquish their amateur status.

"The Prize Limit Rule (Rule 3-2) allows a player to accept prize vouchers or merchandise with a value of $750 or less in a golf competition," Bernie Loehr, Director of Amateur Status and the Rules of Golf for the USGA, told me in an email. "However, there is an Exception to the Prize Limit Rule that allows a player who makes a hole-in-one during a round of golf to accept any prize, regardless of its value and retain his amateur status. As this hole-in-one was made during a round of golf, the player could have accepted the $10,000 and not forfeited his amateur status under the USGA Rules of Amateur Status."

Something tells me Butler would take the cool $1 million should he land an ace on June 18.

As a former college senior many years ago, I'd have to say that as great as that year was, it would have been a whole lot more fun with a $1 million bank account.