2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
Luis Oosthuizen shows off the championship belt and Claret Jug that came with his dominating performance at the Old Course at St. Andrews. (Getty Images)

Open Championship win lands Oosthuizen in PGA Grand Slam

With a dominating performance at the Old Course, little-known South African Louis Oosthuizen not only became the first player since Tony Lema in 1964 to win his first major championship at St. Andrews, he secured a spot in the most exclusive foursome in all of golf, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

ST. ANDREWS, Scotland -- It was a dominating, clinical performance, one befitting a time-tested champion. But the architect of this dissection of the Old Course at St. Andrews didn’t come from an expected source. Instead, it came from little-known South African Louis Oosthuizen, who romped to the Open Championship title and the third spot in the hardest tournament to qualify for -- the PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

Oosthuizen became the first player since Tony Lema in 1964 to win his first major championship at St. Andrews, firing a final-round 71 to secure a trip to Port Royal Golf Course in Southampton, Bermuda. That’s where the major champions will gather, Oct. 18-20, to decide the title of “Champion of Champions.”

In becoming the fourth South African to win the Open Championship, joining Bobby Locke, Gary Player and Ernie Els, Oosthuizen lapped the field on the storied course. He led over the last 48 holes and his 16-under-par 272 score produced a seven-shot victory over England’s Lee Westwood. His margin of victory was the largest in an Open Championship since World War II, and trailed only seven-time PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champion Tiger Woods’ eight-shot victory at St. Andrews in 2000.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf will once again air on TNT, where it is broadcast in prime time to more than 89 million U.S. homes and an international audience of more than 100 countries. Comprised of the four major championship winners, the 36-hole PGA Grand Slam of Golf provides the best players in the world the opportunity to earn a spot in the most elusive and difficult foursome in all of golf.

Rounding out the foursome with Masters Champion Phil Mickelson, U.S. Open winner Graeme McDowell and Oosthuizen, is the winner of the 92nd PGA Championship, Aug. 12-15 at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wis.

Should one of those players win more than one major Championship this season, the foursome will be completed through the Major Champions Points List composed of past major Champions who compete in the current year’s majors.

Besides, Els, Mickelson and Woods, past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions include: Lucas Glover, Angel Cabrera, Jim Furyk, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman, Nick Price and Ian Woosnam.

Corporate Hospitality information for the 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf is available at www.PGA.com or www.pgagrandslamofgolf.com. For more information regarding corporate hospitality, please call (561) 624-7631. A limited amount of tickets are available to witness golf’s major Champions compete for the title Champion of Champions. To pre-register for tickets, visit www.PGA.com or www.pgagrandslamofgolf.com or call 800-PGA-GOLF (800-742-4653) or (561) 624-7601.

About The PGA of America

Since 1916, The PGA of America's mission has been twofold: to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, the Association enables PGA Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the multi-billion dollar golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable golf promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.

About PGA.com

PGA.com is the official online destination for The PGA of America and is home to the PGA Championship, the Senior PGA Championship, The PGA Grand Slam of Golf and The Ryder Cup. Beginning in 2002, Turner Sports and the PGA formed a multi-year alliance with a mission to serve the golfing public, PGA Professionals and the golf industry with products and services to grow the game of golf. The two organizations recently expanded the deal through 2019 to include licensing with Turner's Cartoon Network Enterprises (CNE) serving as the PGA's licensing agent in the youth marketplace.

As a leader and innovator in broadband golf coverage, PGA.com continues to gain success for its PGA.com LIVE video presentation of PGA's premier events. In 2007 PGA.com Pipeline LIVE was nominated for an Emmy(r) by the National Television Academy. In 2009, PGA.com's television, online and mobile coverage of the PGA Championship was nominated for an Emmy(r) by the National Television Academy and was awarded a CommArts Interactive award for the PGA Championship LIVE video and the PGA Championship iPhone app.

©2012 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital NetworkPGA.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.