2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf
David Toms, winner of the 2001 PGA Championship, will be making his second appearance in the PGA Grand Slam of Golf. (Getty Images)

Toms tabbed to replace injured Oosthuizen

Filling in for the recently injured Luis Oosthuizen, former PGA Champion David Toms will join Graeme McDowell, Martin Kaymer and Ernie Els in the field for next week's 2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- David Toms, the 2001 PGA Champion and a member of three U.S. Ryder Cup Teams, will replace reigning Open Champion Louis Oosthuizen in the field next week at the 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf in Bermuda, The PGA of America announced Tuesday.

Oosthuizen, who captured his first major championship at St. Andrews in July, recently damaged ligaments on the outside of his left ankle while in his native South Africa. He was forced to withdraw from the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship last week at St. Andrews, then notified PGA of America officials that he would not be able to compete in the PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

Toms finished second in the 2001 PGA Grand Slam of Golf, his only previous appearance in the 36-hole event. He will join U.S. Open Champion Graeme McDowell, PGA Champion Martin Kaymer and three-time major champion Ernie Els, Oct. 18-20 at the 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf at Port Royal Golf Course in Bermuda.

Season tickets for Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday will be available for $50. Daily tickets for individual attendance will be available for $20 on Monday for the Champions Clinic and Pro-Am and $20 each day for the Tuesday and Wednesday competition days.

In an effort to encourage more youths to become involved in the game of golf, juniors age 17 and younger will be admitted free when accompanied by a ticket-bearing adult.

Tickets for the 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf may be purchased, via telephone by dialing 1-800-PGA-GOLF (800-742-4653), or 561-624-7601, or by visiting www.pgagrandslamofgolf.com. Please follow the PGA Grand Slam of Golf in Bermuda on Facebook.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf

Established in 1979, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf has grown from an 18-hole, single-day charity event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf's best against each other for a $1.35 million purse. TNT will televise the PGA Grand Slam of Golf to 88 million U.S. households, and it is seen in more than 100 countries.

PGA Grand Slam of Golf champions include Woods, Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Els, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman, Nick Price, Ian Woosnam and Angel Cabrera.

The 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf will be hosted by the Bermuda Department of Tourism, Port Royal Golf Club and the Fairmont Southampton.

The PGA of America

Since 1916, The PGA of America's mission has been twofold; to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, the Association enables PGA Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the multi-billion dollar golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable golf promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.

©2012 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital NetworkPGA.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.