Barry Evans of West Virginia snagged the chance to tee it up in the season's final major. (Photo: PGA of America)
Barry Evans of West Virginia snagged the chance to tee it up in the season's final major. (Photo: PGA of America)

Top 20 finishers clinch spots in the PGA Championship

One of the great perks available at the PGA Professional National Championship is that the 20 highest finishers receive automatic berths in the PGA Championship. Ron Philo Jr. will lead the 2006 contingent to Medinah Country Club in August.

Bob Denney, PGA of America

VERONA, N.Y. -- PGA Professional National Champion Ron Philo Jr. of Westchester, N.Y., will head a 20-member delegation earning berths in the 88th PGA Championship, Aug. 17-20, at Medinah (Ill.) Country Club.

Philo, 40, the PGA head professional at Metropolis Country Club in White Plains, N.Y., will be competing in his seventh PGA Championship. Philo captured his first national title June 25, by defeating Alan Schulte of Fishers, Ind., in a three-hole playoff after first finishing with a final-round 4-under-par 68 for a 10-under 278 in the 39th PGA Professional National Championship at Turning Stone Resort & Casino in Verona, N.Y.

The following PGA Professionals will join Philo in the 88th PGA Championship:

Schulte; Lee Rinker, Jupiter, Fla.; Mike Small, Champaign, Ill.; Chris Starkjohann, Cardiff By The Sea, Calif.; Craig Thomas, Oceanside, N.Y.; Kelly Mitchum, Southern Pines, N.C.; Jeff Cranford, La Quinta, Calif.; Jeff Coston, Blaine, Wash.; Donald Yrene, Scottsdale, Ariz.; John Aber, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Jim Kane, Lawrence, Kan.; Barry Evans, Charleston, W.Va.; Chris Wiemers, Omaha, Neb.; Jerry Haas, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Steve Schneiter, Sandy, Utah; Chip Sullivan, Troutville, Va.; Greg Bisconti, South Salem, N.Y.; Mark Brown, Oyster Bay, N.Y.; and Tim Weinhart, Buford, Ga.

How the Top 20 PGA Professionals fared in the 39th PGA Professional National Championship:

PlayerHome FacilityScores
1. Ron Philo Jr.Metropolis Country Club
White Plains, N.Y.
2. Alan SchulteThe Hawthorns G&CC
Fishers, Ind.
3. Lee RinkerEmerald Dunes Golf Club
West Palm Beach, Fla.
4. Mike SmallUniversity of Illinois
Champaign, Ill.
5. Chris StarkjohannHodges Golf Center
Escondido, Calif.
T6. Craig ThomasThe Muttontown Club
E. Norwich, N.Y.
T6. Kelly MitchumPinehurst Resort & CC
Pinehurst, N.C.
T8. Jeff CranfordThe Palms GC
La Quinta, Calif.
T8. Jeff CostonSemiahmoo Golf Resort
Blaine, Wash.
T8. Don YreneThe Golf Club of
Scottsdale, Ariz.
T8. John AberAllegheny Country Club
Sewickley, Pa.
T12. Jim KaneOak Tree Country Club
Edmond, Okla.
T12. Barry EvansBerry Hills CC
Charleston, W. Va.
T12. Chris WiemersEagle Run Golf Course
Omaha, Neb.
T12. Jerry HaasOld Town GC
Winston-Salem, N.C.
T16. Steve SchneiterSchneiter's Pebble Brook
Golf Links
Sandy, Utah
T16. Chip SullivanAshley Plantation CC
Daleville, Va.
T16. Greg BiscontiSt. Andrew's GC
Hastings On Hudson, N.Y.
T16. Mark BrownTam O'Shanter CC
Brookville, N.Y.
T16. Tim WeinhartSt. Marlo Country Club
Duluth, Ga.

* Won Championship three-hole sudden-death playoff
# Won a playoff to earn a berth in the 88th PGA Championship

The PGA Professional National Championship is presented by Titleist, FootJoy and Cobra; Buick and Club Car. The Greg Norman Collection is the Official Golf Apparel of the championship. The Golf Channel is the exclusive media partner and the PGA Tour is a contributing partner.

Celebrating its 90th anniversary, The PGA of America was founded in 1916, and is a not-for-profit organization that promotes the game of golf while continuing to enhance the standards of the profession. The Association is comprised of more than 28,000 men and women PGA Professionals who are dedicated to growing participation in the game of golf.

Copyright 2006 All rights reserved.

©2006 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to the webmaster.
Sales inquiries contact Sales. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.