May 1, 2017 - 9:14am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Miguel Angel Jimenez, Keegan Bradley
@PGATOUR on YouTube
Two years ago today, Miguel Angel Jimenez and Keegan Bradley engaged in a heated exchange during a meaningless match at the 2015 WGC-Cadillac Match Play.

Today, May 1, marks the two-year anniversary of something we very rarely see in golf... let alone in a PGA Tour event.

Two years ago today in the 2015 WGC-Cadillac Match Play at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, things got heated between Miguel Angel Jimenez, Keegan Bradley and Bradley's then caddie, Steve "Pepsi" Hale.

It all started in the meaningless match -- both players had already been eliminated from the tournament but were playing out their round robin -- when Bradley was taking relief from a temporary immovable obstruction. After taking a drop, Bradley still didn't have a clear swing and had to drop again for full relief. Jimenez took exception to the second drop, thinking that Bradley could only drop again if the ball rolled more than two club lengths. He didn't realize there was a fence still in Bradley's way.

And that's when, by golf standards, it got ugly.

The two went back and forth and then Bradly got particularly hot when Jimenez told Hale to "shut up."

"I felt like he was being very disrespectful to me – not only me, but my caddie," Bradley said to reporters. "I felt like I had to stand up for my boy here. Me and Pepsi have been through a lot."

Here's how it played out:

Jimenez would win the match 2 up, but didn't much feel like talking about the incident afterwards.

"Whatever he say, now is finished," Jimenez said then. "The round is finished and everything is done. We had a little discussion, but it is done."

"It was just a heat-of-the-moment thing," Bradley said. "It was disappointing. I'm pretty bummed out about it. It was just ... I had a ruling and he felt like he needed to intervene and I felt like he was being inappropriate to me and my caddie.

"I have nothing but respect for him. He's a great player out here," Bradley said. "But I have to be able to stick up for myself when I feel something is wrong."

Bradley admitted later in the week he got "schooled" by Jimenez.

“To be honest with you I got schooled by a great gamer, I let him get under my skin," Bradley told Golf Channel. "I was trying to get a ruling on 18 and I kind of fell for his distraction. Honestly, it’s genius on his part. I took notice of what I did wrong and i’ll use it next time.”

 

That time Miguel Angel Jimenez and Keegan Bradley went at it
May 1, 2017 - 8:50am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
water shot
YouTube
Golfers will do anything to save a stroke... like trudging into water in an attempt to extract a half-submerged ball. The result is often the opposite of the intention.

What's wrong with golfers? All of us? We're a sick breed who will do whatever we can to attempt to save a stroke, even if that means thinking we can pull off what Bill Haas did in the Tour Championship a few years back on his way to winning the FedExCup by hitting a half-submerged ball out of water and onto the green.

Like this guy, who goes by "TB," in a video posted to YouTube on Sunday night:

Clearly his intention was to look like Haas:

Instead, he looked like Woody Austin at the 2007 Presidents Cup:

 

Golfer attempts shot from water, guess what happens next
April 30, 2017 - 5:29pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Pornanong Phatlum
@LPGA on Twitter
Winds were gusting to 38 mph in the final round of the LPGA's Texas Shootout on Sunday, where Pornanong Phatlum caught one of the worst breaks you will ever see in golf.

Golf is filled with good breaks and bad breaks.

If we're being honest here, you'd be hard-pressed to find a worse break than the one Pornanong Phatlum got during Sunday's final round of the LPGA's Texas Shootout.

Playing her second shot on the par-3 17th hole from just in front of the green, Phatlum hit a solid chip -- or so it seemed.

The ball came in just a touch hot and it didn't help that there were wind guts up to 38 mph.

Anyway, as you will see below, the ball actually hits the cup... but continues to roll, roll, roll until final meeting a watery grave:

 

 

Phatlum would double bogey the hole on here way to a final-round, 8-over 79.  

LPGA player hits hole with chip, ball rolls out into nearby pond
April 30, 2017 - 2:43pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships
@uclamensgolf
Snow has caused a lot of problems this week out in Boulder, Colo., at the Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships.

The Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships are taking place this week at Boulder Country Club in Boulder, Colo.

Or, at least they're trying to.

Evidently, no one told Boulder that it's spring time. Snow pounded the area on Saturday suspending Day 2 action.

RELATED: NCAA.com's men's golf coverage

With no golf to be played, teams engaged in -- what else? -- snowball fights:

Here are some tweets from the UCLA men's golf team account, where you can see what they've been dealing with since Friday:

Good news, though. Play will resume today with the snow being designated as "casual water."

Snow wreaks havoc on Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships
George Coetzee
@europeantour
George Coetzee and Dylan Fritelli hit less than ideal second shots into a par 5 during the third round of the China Open, but wound up with looks at eagle anyway.

In golf, it's often said, "it's better to be lucky than good."

Make no mistake about it -- players at the highest level are insanely good. But, it's also nice to occasionally get that stroke of good fortune.

That's what happened for South African players Dylan Fritelli and George Coetzee in the third round of the European Tour's China Open on Saturday.

On the par-5 18th hole, both players elected to go for the green in two.

Both players hit less than ideal shots that made a beeline for the grandstands.

In both cases, the balls caromed off the grandstand and onto the green, leaving each player with unlikely eagle putts.

Here's a look at the two shots:

Coetzee would make the eagle, while Fritelli would "settle" for a birdie.

Golf, man.

Two European Tour golfers hit grandstands with shots, end up with eagle putts
April 30, 2017 - 12:45pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Ian Poulter
USA Today Sports Images
Thanks to Brian Gay finding a loophole in the PGA Tour's FedExCup points formula, he and Ian Poulter retained their PGA Tour cards through their respective major medical extensions.

Earlier this month, European Ryder Cup hero Ian Poulter lost his full-exempt status on the PGA Tour, falling just $30,624, or 63.654 FedExCup points short of what he needed to retain his Tour card after taking a major medical extension.

Or so we thought.

Thanks to some smart detective work by fellow PGA Tour player Brian Gay (a four-time winner), both Poulter and Gay -- it turns out -- will retain their fully exempt status for the remainder of the 2016-17 season.

It was all because of a mathematical gaffe that it appeared Poulter and Gay would be in the uncomfortable position of needing to rely on sponsor exemptions for starts.

Alan Shipnuck from Golf.com explains:

Gay began digging into his FedEx Cup totals for his 2016-17 finishes and only then noticed a lightly publicized change to this season’s points breakdown. The Tour has restructured the distribution, giving fewer points to finishes below 14th. For instance, a 20th-place finish last season was worth 51 points, but this season it brings only 45; 30th place has been devalued from 41 points to 28. Major medicals extensions are not pegged to a specific season; indeed, Gay had accrued his $917,000 across the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons. But thanks to the Tour’s new math, his finishes this season were worth fewer points.

The same, obviously, went for Poulter.

Gay immediately put in a call to the PGA Tour, essentially arguing, "You can't change the formula for points in the middle of a major medical extension."

The PGA Tour's four elected player directors then met with commissioner Jay Monahan and unanimously agreed that Gsay was right. The points from the old formula were retroactively awarded and also got Gay a spot in the Players Championship.

When Gay found out the news last Friday, it quickly dawned on him that the loophole would likely also apply to Poulter.

Poulter figured his full status was gone after a missed cut in San Antonio last week. But, as Shipnuck reported, when he retroactively received the FedEx points for this season, he had enough to fulfill the medical extension.

Happy times.

Shipnuck had this from Gay texting Poulter:

“Ian wrote, I freakin’ love you with a bunch of red hearts,” Gay says, laughing. “We talked later, and he didn’t even know the FedEx points were different this season. He was happy and he was angry, because his people hadn’t known what was going on and obviously the Tour did a poor job of explaining it, and the guy has gone through hell over this.”

Sounds like Gay is in line for a special gift from Poulter, no?

“He said he would get me a proper bottle of wine,” says Gay. “I was thinking more like some private jet flights, but that’s O.K, I’ll take the wine.” 

 

 

Ian Poulter retains PGA Tour card thanks to fellow pro Brian Gay