Langley saved by "10-second rule"
What was the old Carly Simon song used for the ketchup commercial? "Anticipation, is making me wait."
Scott Langley knows the feeling.
On Sunday, Langley hit a putt on the 16th hole that hung on the edge of the cup for what seemed like forever, although in reality it was just 22 seconds.
Watch as both Langley and playing partner Bubba Watson are perplexed as to how to proceed.
The official rule involved is Rule 16-2. Here's how it reads:
"When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule."
Bryan Jones, co-vice chairman of the PGA Rules Committee, watched the video and here's his interpretation:
"That was a pretty short putt. Generally the player is allowed a little 'reaction time' to the putt not dropping and the time needed to get to the hole before the 10 seconds starts. He certainly took a circuitous route to the hole and while watching I started my count and the ball fell in at the eight-second mark based on my count.
"An argument could certainly be made that he could have reacted a little quicker and the clock would have started sooner. In any case the comments by the announcers about hitting a moving ball are completely incorrect because the specifics of Rule 16-2 override Rule 14 in this example."
Fortunately for Langley, his patience was eventually rewarded.