Thorbjorn Olesen's odd three-putt in Turkey

Thorbjorn Olesen
Getty Images
Thorbjorn Olesen had a strange situation in Turkey on Friday when he accidentally hit his ball with the putter during the second round of the Turkish Airlines Open.
By T.J. Auclair
PGA.com
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Friday, November 08, 2013 | 9:57 a.m.

Nobody likes a three-putt -- make that double for touring professionals.

On Friday, in the second round of the Turkish Airlines Open, Thorbjorn Olesen just missed a par putt on the par-4 12th hole from roughly 10 feet. As he proceeded to get set for his bogey try from a little more than a foot, Olesen accidentally hit the ball when he was trying to address it, sending it past the hole.

Olesen looks to be in disbelief that his putter made contact with the ball. After talking briefly with playing partner Pablo Larrazabal, Olesen called in a rules official and it was determined that Olesen had to replace the ball -- with penalty -- as his intention on the initial putt was not to hit the ball.

Olesen put the ball back in place and made the putt this time for a double-bogey 6 (click here to watch the video).

It was an odd scenario to say the least. Olesen finished the round with an even-par 72 and is tied for 25th at 6 under.

Follow T.J. Auclair on Twitter, @tjauclair.
 

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for PGA.com and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.