U.S. Open qualifier calls penalty on himself, five days later

Jason Millard
USA Today Images
Jason Millard called a penalty on a shot he attempted a week ago, resulting in disqualification from the U.S. Open.
By Mark Aumann
PGA.com

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Saturday, June 07, 2014 | 7:02 p.m.

You want a prime example of the "honor code" in professional golf? Check out what Jason Millard did Saturday, just five days before the start of the 2014 U.S. Open.

A week after shooting two rounds of 68 during the Memphis sectional, Millard reported a self-imposed penalty for grounding his club in a bunker on the 18th hole at the Colonial Country Club's North Course -- which results in a disqualification from playing at Pinehurst No. 2.

"LONGEST DAY IN GOLF:" Justin Leonard among those making U.S. Open field

"I'm pretty sure I grounded my club in the bunker," Millard was quoting as saying in an Associated Press brief. "I didn't see anything for sure, but I felt something and I saw a small indentation. It happened so fast, I really don't know 100 percent, but deep down, I believe I did. I couldn't find peace about it. For five days, I practiced and I couldn't get it off my mind. It's heart-breaking, but what I was feeling in my heart didn't feel right. It's the right decision and I am sticking with it."

"We commend Jason for bringing this matter to our attention," said Daniel B. Burton, USGA vice president and chairman of the championship committee. "At this time, we have no recourse but to disqualify him under the Rules of Golf and specifically Rule 34-1b."

Most of the reaction around the golf world was first one of shock, then respect and admiration.

Millard, who turned pro in 2011, was replaced in the field by Sam Love, the second alternate from the Memphis qualifier. Millard missed the cut in the Honda Classic in March, his only PGA Tour start of the season.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.