Jarrod Lyle
PGA Tour via YouTube
Jarrod Lyle canned a 64-year-wedge shot for eagle immediately after John Huh had dropped in an eagle of his own from 122 yards on Thursday.
This being the first week of the new PGA Tour season, you might think the players would be a little rusty – especially those who didn't make it all the way through the FedExCup playoffs. Judging by the scores we saw on Thursday, that's not the case.
Two in particular who were flashing some serious mid-season form were John Huh and Jarrod Lyle, who combined for what will surely go down as one of the 2015-16 PGA Tour season's best highlights. 
Playing in the same group, the two hit their second shots up toward the green on the par-5 16th hole. Huh was off in the right rough, 122 yards out, when he pulled out a wedge and took a full swing. The ball landed on the front of the putting surface, hopped a couple times and rolled right into the hole for an eagle.
Next up was Lyle, in the left side of the fairway about 64 yards out. He took his cut, and the ball also landed on the front part of the putting surface. And then, just for drama's sake, it hopped slightly past the hole, then backed right in.
Two shots, two eagles. Done, and done.
I'm not sure which one I'd call the shot of the day. Huh's eagle was from twice as far, but the odds of Lyle canning his shot immediately on top of Huh's seem astronomical. Maybe we need to go to a sudden-death wedge-off!
Here are their shots. Watch them for yourself, and you make the call:
John Huh and Jarrod Lyle sink long-distance eagles back-to-back
Nick Watney
PGA Tour via YouTube
Nick Watney's approach shot from 263 yards out on Thursday peeked into the cup but didn't quite fall.
John Huh and Jarrod Lyle hit the two best shots of the day on Thursday at the Frys.com Open, when – playing in the same group and hitting their shots one after the other – they both eagled the par-5 16th hole at Silverado from long distance.
The clear runner-up, however, belongs to Nick Watney, who had an eagle of his own – because he missed a rare double eagle by a hair. 
Watney's tee shot on the par-5 18th hole found the fairway and left him 263 yards from the flag. He pulled out a fairway metal, and gave it a rip. His ball sailed straight, and landed on the front part of the putting surface, but a long way from the back pin position.
The ball tracked right at the flag like it had radar, though, and hit the front left part of the cup. Had it been rolling a teeny bit slower, it would have fallen right in for a double eagle. 
It peeked down into the hole, but its momentum carried out the back side and it stopped about a foot away. He tapped in for an eagle and finished his day with a 4-under 68 that wasn't bad but was almost a whole lot better.
Check it out:
Nick Watney lips out fairway shot for double eagle at Frys.com Open
Callaway Golf/San Diego Padres
Petco Park in San Diego will be transformed from a baseball field into a unique golf course for one weekend in November.
Major League Baseball season is over – it is for my teams, anyway – but Callaway and the San Diego Padres have come up with a fantastic reason to visit Petco Park next month. They're building an actual nine-hole golf course inside the park, and it'll be open to the public on Nov. 5-8.
Each hole will play in a different part of the park, from the dugout to the upper deck, and will feature a unique theme along with a chance to win prizes from snacks to a new Callaway Great Big Bertha Driver. Players will finish their round in The Loft presented by Budweiser, which will be transformed into a Callaway clubhouse and will give golfers the chance to relax, have some snacks, watch other golfers and even shop for souvenirs.
The course begins on a putting green in the Padres' dugout. From there, golfers will move to the upper deck, where they'll hit shots down onto the field from various locations for holes 2 through 5. 
No. 6 will tee off on the field level, while No. 7 will move to the Batter's Eye out in centerfield. No. 8 will feature some putting in the bullpen, and the final hole will be on the rooftop of the Western Metal Supply Co. building.
Green fees start at $100 for twosomes ($50 per player) and $200 for foursomes. The cost includes a nine-hole round for each golfer, as well as parking, snacks and beverages along the course, and a limited edition "The Links at Petco Park" hat.
Platinum twosomes and foursomes are also available for $400 and $800, respectively. In addition to the standard package, upgrades will include a limited edition Padres-branded Callaway club for each golfer and tickets to a 2016 Padres game.
The course will be reserved for media and corporate use on Nov. 5, and will be open to the public Nov. 6-8. Callaway will provide clubs and balls for players to use, and tee times can be reserved at: www.padres.com/thelinks
"Playing a nine-hole course at a venue like Petco Park with Callaway golf clubs and balls will be a once-in-a-lifetime round, and we are excited to be a part of it," said Callaway Senior Vice President of Marketing Harry Arnett. 
San Diego Padres and Callaway to build nine-hole golf course inside Petco Park
October 15, 2015 - 12:25pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Alvaro Quiros
Want to see a cruel tap-in par-putt rejection? Check this out from Spain's Alvaro Quiros from Thursday's first round of the Portugal Masters.

You know how the Golf Gods took care of Matt Kuchar on Thursday by blowing his golf ball into the hole?

Well, they also hosed Spain's Alvaro Quiros.

During the first round of the Portugal Masters on Thursday, Quiros was faced with a short birdie putt on the par-5 12th. He missed it, leaving himself less than a foot for par.

RELATED: Golf buddy boots away friend's long eagle try destined for cup

Quiros stepped up to sweep it in, disgusted with the birdie effort, and then this happened...


Are you kidding me? That ball hit the back of the cup, which swatted it away like a Shaquille O'Neal rejection.


From birdie to bogey just like that. 

Quiros gets rejected on tap-in putt
October 15, 2015 - 10:46am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Deer fight
Michael Mooney on YouTube
From the "you don't see this everyday" files: Two bucks locked horns on the middle of a green at Spyglass Hill Golf Course last week. Yikes.

It's not unusual to see wildlife on the golf course.

But, when said wildlife is fighting on a green, well, that's another story.

RELATED: Weird animal encounters on the golf course

That's what happened at the Spyglass Hill Golf Course in Pebble Beach a week ago (nice spot by Golf Digest writer John Strege) when two bucks went at it hard.

Check out the video below:


Simmer down, guys. You're in Pebble Beach, Calif. Take in the scenery. 

Bucks brawl on green at Spyglass Hill
October 15, 2015 - 8:45am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Matt Kuchar
PGA Tour of Australasia/YouTube
You know it's your day on the golf course when you're lining up a short putt for what would be a crushing double bogey, but then a gust of wind provides an incredibly lucky assist. Just ask Matt Kuchar.

Following the Presidents Cup, Matt Kuchar decided to stay on the other side of the world, traveling from South Korea to Fiji for the Fiji International on the PGA Tour of Australasia.

On an incredibly windy day at Natadola Bay Golf Course Sigatoka in Thursday's first round, the Golf Gods rewarded Kuchar for playing the tournament.

RELATED: What happens if the wind blows your ball in the hole?

Check out what happens as Kuchar lines up a short double bogey putt on the second hole:


That's right... the wind blew the ball in the hole for bogey -- the last shot Kuchar played. Kuchar finished the day with a 2-over 72 and is currently tied for second.

Kuchar did not have to replace his ball. He was protected by Decision 18-1/12 and Decision 20-3d/1 in the Rules of Golf. To summarize, Decision 18-1/12 states that the wind is not considered an "outside agency." If the wind blows a player's ball, he or she should play from the new position. If the wind blows the ball into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his or her last stroke played.

Decision 20-3d/1 benifited Kuchar as well, because it states that even a ball that has been replaced ("marked") on a green -- if at rest on the spot it was placed -- would be played from the new location if the wind caused it to move. For Kuchar, the new location was in the hole, hence no need to play another shot.

Lucky break for Kuch indeed. 

Howling wind blows Kuchar's ball into the hole