Shoprite LPGA Classic
USA Today Sports Images
The Shoprite LPGA Classic will award its final sponsor exemption for the June event based off a Twitter fan vote. Blair O'Neal is one of four players in the running.

UPDATE: Sharmila Nicollet has won the Twitter vote.

-----------------------------

The LPGA will allow its fans to decide who will get the final sponsor exemption for its upcoming Shoprite LPGA Classic.

ESPN's Darren Rovell reported on Monday that fans can vote between four players in a Twitter poll that will be conducted next week. Those four players are Blair O'Neal, Sharmila Nicollet, Carly Booth and Susana Benavides.

O'Neal is a host on Golf Channel, who won that network's reality competition "Big Break." She also has an Instagram account that boasts 186,000 followers. Nicollet is an Indian golfer with 350,000 followers, which Rovell reports, is second to only Paula Creamer among LPGA players.

Booth is the most successful of the four players in the vote with two victories on the Ladies European Tour. Benavides is from Bolivia and played college golf at Ohio State.

The Shoprite LPGA Classic will be played in Galloway, N.J., June 2-4.

Anna Nordqvist is the defending champion. 

LPGA will have a fan vote to determine final spot in field for upcoming event
Bethpage Black
USA Today Sports Images
Charles Robson has been named the General Chair of the 2019 PGA Championship at Bethpage Black.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (May 2, 2017) -- The PGA of America announced today that Charles Robson of Garden City, New York, who spent 43 years as executive director of the Metropolitan PGA Section, has been named General Chair of the 2019 PGA Championship.

The 101st PGA Championship will make its first visit to Bethpage State Park’s Black Course in Farmingdale, New York.

Robson, 67, served the Metropolitan PGA Section from 1973 to 2016 by representing 700-plus PGA Members and 100 apprentices. Robson has worked with an experienced Bethpage State Park staff, led by PGA Director of Golf Joe Rehor, which supported two U.S. Opens and two Fedex Cup Playoff events.

“The PGA of America is extremely fortunate that Charlie Robson will serve as General Chair for what we anticipate will be one of our greatest PGA Championships,” said PGA of America CEO Pete Bevacqua. “Charlie’s record of service to the PGA Member and the respect by which he is held within our Association and throughout the Metropolitan New York area are unquestioned. Charlie will guide an outstanding team in preparing for the 2019 PGA Championship at Bethpage.”

The PGA Championship General Chair serves as an ambassador for golf and the Championship, and leads a committee composed of 70 Chairpersons.

“I am excited about the opportunity to be working with so many great people at Bethpage Black and those who will make up the committee and volunteers,” said Robson. “There’s no doubt in my mind that Bethpage Black deserves to be in the top 100 public and private golf courses in the world. There are few municipal facilities like it anywhere.

“The people at Bethpage take great pride in growing the game of golf. It’s exciting to have been involved in bringing a PGA Championship to Bethpage and later a Ryder Cup (2024). I look forward to helping make the PGA Championship in 2019 one of the best ever.”

Robson, 67, was born just 10 miles from Bethpage State Park in Mineola, New York, and grew up in Manhasset. He is a 1972 graduate of Washington & Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. Robson began working for the Metropolitan PGA Section in November 1972 and retired on Dec. 31, 2016.

During his term as Metropolitan PGA Executive Director, Robson oversaw many premier Section events at Bethpage Black including the New York State Open and the Metropolitan PGA Championship.

Bethpage Black, designed by A.W. Tillinghast in 1936, was host to the 2002 and 2009 U.S. Open. It has been a regular member on Golf Digest’s roster of America’s 100 Greatest Golf Courses and GOLF Magazine named it one of the top 100 courses in the world.       

Charles Robson named General Chair of 2019 PGA Championship at Bethpage Black
May 1, 2017 - 9:14am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Miguel Angel Jimenez, Keegan Bradley
@PGATOUR on YouTube
Two years ago today, Miguel Angel Jimenez and Keegan Bradley engaged in a heated exchange during a meaningless match at the 2015 WGC-Cadillac Match Play.

Today, May 1, marks the two-year anniversary of something we very rarely see in golf... let alone in a PGA Tour event.

Two years ago today in the 2015 WGC-Cadillac Match Play at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, things got heated between Miguel Angel Jimenez, Keegan Bradley and Bradley's then caddie, Steve "Pepsi" Hale.

It all started in the meaningless match -- both players had already been eliminated from the tournament but were playing out their round robin -- when Bradley was taking relief from a temporary immovable obstruction. After taking a drop, Bradley still didn't have a clear swing and had to drop again for full relief. Jimenez took exception to the second drop, thinking that Bradley could only drop again if the ball rolled more than two club lengths. He didn't realize there was a fence still in Bradley's way.

And that's when, by golf standards, it got ugly.

The two went back and forth and then Bradly got particularly hot when Jimenez told Hale to "shut up."

"I felt like he was being very disrespectful to me – not only me, but my caddie," Bradley said to reporters. "I felt like I had to stand up for my boy here. Me and Pepsi have been through a lot."

Here's how it played out:

Jimenez would win the match 2 up, but didn't much feel like talking about the incident afterwards.

"Whatever he say, now is finished," Jimenez said then. "The round is finished and everything is done. We had a little discussion, but it is done."

"It was just a heat-of-the-moment thing," Bradley said. "It was disappointing. I'm pretty bummed out about it. It was just ... I had a ruling and he felt like he needed to intervene and I felt like he was being inappropriate to me and my caddie.

"I have nothing but respect for him. He's a great player out here," Bradley said. "But I have to be able to stick up for myself when I feel something is wrong."

Bradley admitted later in the week he got "schooled" by Jimenez.

“To be honest with you I got schooled by a great gamer, I let him get under my skin," Bradley told Golf Channel. "I was trying to get a ruling on 18 and I kind of fell for his distraction. Honestly, it’s genius on his part. I took notice of what I did wrong and i’ll use it next time.”

 

That time Miguel Angel Jimenez and Keegan Bradley went at it
May 1, 2017 - 8:50am
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
water shot
YouTube
Golfers will do anything to save a stroke... like trudging into water in an attempt to extract a half-submerged ball. The result is often the opposite of the intention.

What's wrong with golfers? All of us? We're a sick breed who will do whatever we can to attempt to save a stroke, even if that means thinking we can pull off what Bill Haas did in the Tour Championship a few years back on his way to winning the FedExCup by hitting a half-submerged ball out of water and onto the green.

Like this guy, who goes by "TB," in a video posted to YouTube on Sunday night:

Clearly his intention was to look like Haas:

Instead, he looked like Woody Austin at the 2007 Presidents Cup:

 

Golfer attempts shot from water, guess what happens next
April 30, 2017 - 5:29pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Pornanong Phatlum
@LPGA on Twitter
Winds were gusting to 38 mph in the final round of the LPGA's Texas Shootout on Sunday, where Pornanong Phatlum caught one of the worst breaks you will ever see in golf.

Golf is filled with good breaks and bad breaks.

If we're being honest here, you'd be hard-pressed to find a worse break than the one Pornanong Phatlum got during Sunday's final round of the LPGA's Texas Shootout.

Playing her second shot on the par-3 17th hole from just in front of the green, Phatlum hit a solid chip -- or so it seemed.

The ball came in just a touch hot and it didn't help that there were wind guts up to 38 mph.

Anyway, as you will see below, the ball actually hits the cup... but continues to roll, roll, roll until final meeting a watery grave:

 

 

Phatlum would double bogey the hole on here way to a final-round, 8-over 79.  

LPGA player hits hole with chip, ball rolls out into nearby pond