Jason Dufner is in the field this week at the WGC-HSBC Champions. It's his second start in as many weeks -- his first two starts on the PGA Tour since being forced to withdraw with injury at the PGA Championship in August.
So, naturally, there was going to be a little rust.
Dufner had a respectable T26 last week in Malaysia at the CIMB Classic and is hoping to improve on that this week in Shanghai.
On Thursday, however, Dufner was his own worst enemy. The rust was more of a mental variety than swing related.
Playing the back nine first, Dufner committed a big no-no from the 18th fairway when he bent over and picked up his golf ball. Almost instantly, he realized he'd made a mistake.
You see, last week in the CIMB Classic, the lift, clean and place rule was in effect. Dufner had a momentary brain lapse Thursday and thought he was playing under the same rules and instinctively picked up the ball. Oops.
"Just one of those things," Dufner told Associated Press golf writer Doug Ferguson.
The infraction meant a one-stroke penalty for Dufner, who shot an even-par 72 instead of a 1-under 71.