Horschel holes out for eagle at No. 8

Billy Horschel
@TheMasters on Twitter
Billy Horschel was the victim of a brutal rule on Saturday. On Sunday, he made up for it with an incredible hole-out for eagle on the par-5 eighth hole.
By T.J. Auclair
PGA.com
Connect with T.J.

Published: Sunday, April 10, 2016 | 3:20 p.m.

The Golf Gods owed one to Billy Horschel.

During Saturday's third round of the Masters, Horschel was the victim of one of the game's cruelest rules.

After replacing his ball on the green at the par-5 15th hole, a gust of wind blew Horschel's ball off the green and into the water hazard that fronts it. As a result, Horschel was assessed a penalty stroke and signed for a bogey-6.

Fast forward to Sunday. Playing his third shot on the par-5 eighth hole, Horschel went ahead and did this:

 

The Golf Gods taketh away and, sometimes, they giveth back.

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for PGA.com and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.