The PGA Championship

Former PGA champion Nelson withdraws with hip injury

The two-time winner will be replaced in the field by Billy Andrade, who will be making his 14th PGA appearance

ROCHESTER, N.Y. ( -- Former two-time PGA champion Larry Nelson withdrew from the 85th PGA Championship on Monday because of a hip injury. Nelson, who won the title in 1981 and '87, was replaced in the field by Billy Andrade.

Nelson joins Nick Price, Ian Woosnam and Paul Lawrie as players who have pulled out of the season's final major. Price withdrew in order to extend a family vacation, while Woosnam opted out after the recent death of his father and Lawrie withdrew because of a neck injury.

NOTES: With Larry Nelson withdrawing, there are 11 past PGA Champions competing this week is 11. They are: defending Champion Rich Beem, Paul Azinger (1993), Mark Brooks (1996), John Daly (1991), Davis Love III (1997), Vijay Singh (1998), Jeff Sluman (1988), Hal Sutton (1983), David Toms (2001), Bob Tway (1986) and Tiger Woods (1999, 2000). ... Hank Kuehne, 27, who won the 1998 U.S. Amateur at Oak Hill Country Club, is one of 30 players making their first PGA Championship appearance. Others include 58-year-old Senior PGA Champion John Jacobs, British Open Champion Ben Curtis, Aaron Baddeley and Fredrik Jacobson. ... Five players who competed in the 1980 PGA Championship at Oak Hill Country Club will compete this week, 23 years later: Peter Jacobsen, who tied for 10th in 1980, Tom Watson (T-10), Jay Haas (T-50) and Scott Hoch (Missed Cut). Host PGA Professional Craig Harmon is not competing, but did play in 1980 and missed the cut. ... Since 1990, the PGA Championship has featured the most world-ranked players, and this week is no exception. Through Sunday night, the 85th PGA Championship field will have 96 of the top 100 world-ranked players. That is two less than the 2002 PGA Championship, where 98 of the top 100 competed to mark the strongest field in golf history. ...The 85th PGA Championship's commitments through Sunday, Aug. 10, feature 60 international players -- the most in PGA Championship history -- representing 19 countries, which is one less than the 2002 PGA Championship international contingent mark. ...Defending PGA Champion Rich Beem will be joined by 11 past Champions in the 156-player field: Paul Azinger (1993), Mark Brooks (1996), John Daly (1991), Davis Love III (1997), Larry Nelson (1981, '87), Vijay Singh (1998), Jeff Sluman (1988), Hal Sutton (1983), David Toms (2001) and Tiger Woods (1999, 2000).

Western New York PGA SectionGreater Rochester Visitors Association, Inc.

©2003 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to Sales inquiries contact Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.