Subscribe to RSS feed for News Jim Furyk topped the points list of former major winners who didn't win a major in 2006. (Photo: AP)
Jim Furyk topped the points list of former major winners who didn't win a major in 2006. (Photo: AP)

Furyk earns the final berth in the Grand Slam field

As the top finisher on the 2006 Major Champions Points List, Jim Furyk will round out the foursome in the 2006 PGA Grand Slam of Golf. Furyk will play alongside Phil Mickelson, Geoff Ogilvy and Tiger Woods in Hawaii in November. news services

MEDINAH, Ill. -- Courtesy of Tiger Woods' dominant, five-shot victory in the PGA Championship on Sunday, Jim Furyk has completed the foursome in the hardest event in golf to qualify for: the 2006 PGA Grand Slam of Golf at Poipu Bay Golf Course and Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa in Hawaii.

The 2003 U.S. Open champion at nearby Olympia Fields Country Club, Furyk earned the fourth and final spot by earning the most points on the Major Champions Points List, which is composed of past major champions who compete in the current year's majors. With 270.33 points, Furyk outlasted Ernie Els (239) and Mike Weir (219.16).

Furyk, the 2003 PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champion, will be joined in the season-ending showcase of major champions by Masters Champion Phil Mickelson, U.S. Open Champion Geoff Ogilvy and British Open and PGA Championship winner Woods Nov. 21-22. The 36-hole event will be televised by TNT, which will broadcast it to a worldwide audience of 89 million U.S. homes and an international audience of more than 100 countries in a prime-time telecast.

This year's major champions will compete on the 7,123-yard, par-72 Robert Trent Jones Jr. layout that has yielded some of golf's most memorable shot-making moments of the past several years. In 2004, Mickelson followed his Masters victory by posting a career-best and event-record 59.

Woods' victory at last year's PGA Grand Slam of Golf was as dominant as his PGA Championship victory at Medinah. Woods posted a seven-stroke victory over reigning PGA Champion Mickelson, U.S. Open Champion Michael Campbell and three-time major champion Vijay Singh.

This year's purse will increase to $1.25 million with the winner receiving $500,000, the runner-up pocketing $300,000, the third-place finisher getting $250,000 and the fourth-place finisher receiving $200,000.

Celebrating its 90th anniversary, The PGA of America was founded in 1916, and is a not-for-profit organization that promotes the game of golf while continuing to enhance the standards of the profession. The Association is comprised of more than 28,000 men and women PGA Professionals who are dedicated to growing participation in the game of golf.

Tickets to the PGA Grand Slam of Golf are available to purchase at 1-800-PGA-GOLF (742-4653) or online at

Copyright 2006 All rights reserved.

Greater Woodfield Convention and Visitors Bureau Dupage Convention and Visitors Bureau Illinois PGA Section

©2006 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to the webmaster.
Sales inquiries contact Sales. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.