Find any club's value with Value Guide


Course Overview

Oakland Hills Logo

When the South Course of Oakland Hills was formally opened on July 13, 1918, it already enjoyed a certain degree of prestige. After all, the course was designed by the foremost golf course architect of his day - Donald Ross and the Club had engaged, as its first professional - Walter Hagen who had already won the United States Open.

Oakland Hills' South Course is now world-renowned and is consistently picked among the top ten tests of golf in the United States and, indeed, the world. Its reputation is well earned.

No stranger to Major Championship golf, Oakland Hills as already hosted 10 Major Championships.

Year Event Champion
1924 US Open Cyril Walker
1937 US Open Ralph Guldahl
1951 US Open Ben Hogan
1961 US Open Gene Littler
1972 PGA Championship Gary Player
1979 PGA Championship David Graham
1981 US Senior Open Arnold Palmer
1985 US Open Andy North
1991 US Senior Open Jack Nicklaus
1996 US Open Steve Jones
2002 US Amateur Ricky Barnes
2004 Ryder Cup Matches Europe
2008 PGA Championship TBD

Although many tournaments have been held throughout the years at Oakland Hills, the one which gave the course its greatest reputation as "The Monster" was the 1951 Open. Ben Hogan won with a total of 287 by shooting a final round 67 after which he was quoted as saying "I am glad I brought this course, this monster, to its knees." He also said that it was "the greatest test of golf I have ever played and the toughest course."

©2008 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital is part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Digital Network