Find any club's value with Value Guide

Subscribe to RSS feed for NewsNews

Story Image
Camilo Villegas was off to a good start in the third round before play was suspended until Sunday. (Franklin/Getty Images)

PGA Championship: Third-round notebook

Print News

Play was suspended at 2:16 p.m. due to threatening conditions and was later called for the day after heavy thunderstorms. Play will resume on Sunday morning at 7:15 a.m. All players currently on the course will return to their spots and complete the third round. The final three pairings, which did not start play on Saturday, will play at the following times:

  • 7:20 a.m. David Toms, Henrik Stenson
  • 7:30 a.m. Ben Curtis, Justin Rose
  • 7:40 a.m. J.B. Holmes, Charlie Wi

The third round is expected to be complete by 11:50 AM. At that point, players will be re-paired for the final round in threesomes, teeing off of Nos. 1 and 10. Final-round tee times will run between 12:20 p.m. and 2:20 p.m.

Of the 25 players who managed to complete their third rounds, 2008 Zurich Classic of New Orleans champion Andres Romero was the only one who managed to break par with a round of 5-under 65.

Romero's third-round 65 tied the Oakland Hills competitive course record, which is shared by eight other players: Tom Lehman (1996 U.S. Open
-- 3rd Round), Denis Watson (1985 U.S. Open
-- 2nd Round), Andy North (1985 U.S. Open
-- 2nd Round), Chen Tze-Chung (1985 U.S. Open
-- 1st Round), David Graham (1979 PGA Championship
-- 4th Round), Alan Tapie (1979 PGA Championship
-- 2nd Round) and George Archer (1964 Carling World Open
-- 1st Round).

At the time of suspension, Camilo Villegas had just bogeyed the par-4 14th to move from 5-under to 4-under on his round. Villegas began his round tied for 35th and had moved up into a tie for eighth when play was called for the day.

Through the first three major championships of 2008, the winners have been from three different countries. If an American-born player does not win the PGA Championship, it will mark the first time since 1994 that at least two of the four major championships have not been won by American players (1994: Jose Maria Olazabal
-- The Masters; Ernie Els
-- U.S. Open; Nick Price
-- British Open, PGA Championship).

Phil Mickelson has only one top-10 finish in his last nine starts in major championships (tied for fifth at 2008 Masters Tournament). This is his longest stretch of major championships played without at least two top 10s since he turned professional in 1992.

The winner of the PGA Championship has come out of the last pairing in the final round each of the last 12 years. Steve Elkington (1995) was the last PGA Championship winner not to play in the final group on Sunday, as he was tied for fifth entering the final round. In 2008, all three major championship winners have played in the final pairing
-- here's a look at the 2008 majors and where the eventual winner stood through 54 holes.

54-hole leaders in 2008
Tournament54-hole leaderWinnerWinner's position through 54 holes
MastersTrevor ImmelmanTrevor Immelman1st (2 ahead of Snedeker)
U.S. OpenTiger WoodsTiger Woods1st (1 ahead of Westwood)
British OpenGreg NormanPadraig Harrington2nd (2 behind Norman)

Ernie Els, with career PGA Championship earnings of $1,366,815, has the most winnings at this event of any player yet to have captured the title. He has now made the cut 13 times in 16 starts at the PGA Championship and has four top 10s and eight top 25s to his name. He finished in the top five in three of the last four years, including a solo-third finish in 2007.

54-Hole Leaders to win the PGA Championship (since 1958)
YearPlayer54-Hole StandingWinning Margin
2007Tiger Woods3 over AmesWon by 2 over Austin
2006Tiger WoodsTied w/ DonaldWon by 5 over Micheel
2005Phil MickelsonTied w/ Love IIIWon by 1 over Elkington, Bjorn
2004Vijay Singh1 over LeonardWon in playoff over Leonard,DiMarco
2003Shaun MicheelTied w/ CampbellWon by 2 over Campbell
2001David Toms2 over MickelsonWon by 1 over Mickelson
2000Tiger Woods1 over Dunlap, MayWon in playoff over May
1999Tiger WoodsTied w/ WeirWon by 1 over Garcia
1998Vijay SinghTied w/ StrickerWon by 2 over Stricker
1997Davis Love IIITied w/ LeonardWon by 5 over Leonard
1994Nick Price3 over HaasWon by 6 over Pavin
1991John Daly3 over Knox, StadlerWon by 3 over Lietzke
1990Wayne Grady2 over Couples, StewartWon by 3 over Couples
1985Hubert Green3 over TrevinoWon by 2 over Trevino
1984Lee Trevino1 over WadkinsWon by 4 over Player, Wadkins
1983Hal Sutton2 over CrenshawWon by 1 over Nicklaus
1982Raymond Floyd5 over Haas, NormanWon by 3 over Wadkins
1981Larry Nelson4 over ZoellerWon by 4 over Zoeller
1980Jack Nicklaus3 over HinkleWon by 7 over Bean
1975Jack Nicklaus4 over CramptonWon by 2 over Crampton
1974Lee Trevino1 over Nicklaus, ColeWon by 1 over Nicklaus
1973Jack Nicklaus1 over Rudolph, IversonWon by 4 over Crampton
1972Gary Player1 over CasperWon by 2 over Aaron, Jamieson
1970Dave Stockton3 over FloydWon by 2 over Murphy, Palmer
1969Raymond Floyd5 over Player, Greene, HenryWon by 1 over Player
1966Al Geiberger4 over WysongWon by 4 over Wysong
1965Dave MarrTied w/ AaronWon by 2 over Casper, Nicklaus
1964Bobby Nichols1 over PalmerWon by 3 over Nicklaus, Palmer
1962Gary Player2 over Bayer, McCallisterWon by 1 over Goalby
©2008 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital is part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Digital Network