PGA Championship Shop
Roy Ishikawa PGA Championship
Ryo Ishikawa also received a special invite into the Masters in April, but missed the cut. (Photo: Getty Images)

Teen Ishikawa gets special invite into PGA Championship

Japanese teenage sensation Ryo Ishikawa will make history at the 91st PGA Championship as the youngest competitor in tournament history when he tees off at Hazeltine National Golf Club thanks to a special invitation made by The PGA of America.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- Japanese teen golf sensation Ryo Ishikawa has received a special invitation to play in the 91st PGA Championship.

Ishikawa, believed to be the youngest entrant in a PGA Championship, will be 17 years, 10 months and 27 days old once he steps to the tee on Aug. 13, at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn.

The 91st PGA Championship is Aug. 13-16, at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn.

"I received the news today, I'm very happy," Ishikawa said Tuesday. "My impression is that it's an extremely tough layout and I will aim as high as I can."

Ishikawa, a two-time winner on the Japan PGA Tour, missed the cut in his Masters debut in April, for which he also received a special invitation.

The previous youngest entrant on record in a PGA Championship is three-time Champion Gene Sarazen, who was 19 years, 7 months old when he competed in his first PGA Championship, Sept. 26, 1921, at Inwood Country Club in Far Rockaway, N.Y.

Spain's Sergio Garcia was 19 years, 7 months and 4 days old when he made his PGA Championship debut on Aug. 12, 1999, at Medinah Country Club.

The PGA Championship is one of four premier golf events conducted by The PGA of America. Others include the Ryder Cup, the Senior PGA Championship and the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, which brings together the winners of golf's four major championships.

Golf's best professionals have been competing for more than 90 years for the Championship's coveted Wanamaker Trophy. Past Champions span both the legendary and recent stars of the game: Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson, Sam Snead, Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh and Phil Mickelson.

Tickets will be available for purchase through the 2009 PGA Championship Web site,, or by phone at (800) PGA-GOLF.

About the 2009 PGA Championship

The PGA Championship perennially features the strongest field in golf and is considered one of the largest sporting events in the world. Since 1916, golf's best professionals have been competing for the PGA Championship's coveted Wanamaker Trophy; including past champions Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Davis Love III, Jack Nicklaus, Sam Snead, Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan and Walter Hagen.

About The PGA of America

Since 1916, The PGA of America's mission has been twofold: to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, the Association enables PGA Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the billion-dollar golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable golf promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.

©2012 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.