Ryo Ishikawa


Start Position
Current Position
To Par: +17
Total Strokes: 85 - 72 : 157
T155   147
Select another player
Updated: Thursday, 11 Aug 2011 04:13 PM
  • Birthplace: Saitama, Japan
  • Residence: Matsubushi-Cho, Saitama Prefecture, Japan
  • Age: 19
  • Turned Pro: 2008
  • Eligibility Code: ELIGIBILITY CODE: 12

On May 20, 2007, became the youngest winner ever of a men's regular tournament on the Japan Golf Tour by winning the Munsingwear Open KSB Cup at the age 15 years and 8 months. Competed as an amateur and it was his first tour appearance. Turned professional in 2008 and won another Japan Golf Tour tournament, the Mynavi ABC Championship. By the close of 2008 he had become the youngest ever player to reach the top 100 of the Official World Golf Rankings and also the youngest player to win 100 million yen in a season on the Japan Tour. Played on the 2009 Presidents Cup team. Shot a 12-under 58 -- the lowest score ever on a major tour -- to win 2010 The Crowns for his seventh Japan Tour title. Also won the Fujisankei Classic and Mitsui Sumitomo Visa Taiheiyo Masters in 2010. His father Katsumi is a banker and an avid golfer. Started playing the game when he was 7, and his father is his primary teacher. His younger brother and sister also play golf. Known by the nickname "Hanikami Oji" (literally, "Bashful Prince"), he has his own private practice range about five minutes from his home in Saitama prefecture, which is just outside of Tokyo. The facility is putting in four greens seeded with the same strain of bentgrass that's found at Augusta National. Favorite foods are tonkotsu, a pork and noodle soup and pork cutlet. In addition to golf, also plays futsal, a form of indoor soccer played on a hard court using a smaller ball with less bounce than a regular one. Also skis which helps keep him in shape over the winter.

Japan Tour Wins: 9 - 2007 Munsingwear Open KSB Cup, 2008 Mynavi ABC Championship, 2009 Gateway to the Open Mizuno Open Yomiuri Classic, Sun Chlorella Classic, Fujisankei Classic, Coca-Cola Tokai Classic, 2010 The Crowns, Fujisankei Classic, Mitsui Sumito