Facts and Format

Rory McIlroy finished at -16 at Valhalla to win the 2014 PGA Championship by one shot over Phil Mickelson.

PGA Championship Facts and Format

The PGA Championship is the fourth and final major in professional golf. Here is a list of valuable information to get you set for this year's tournament at Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin. 


PURSE & HONORS: The 2015 purse will be $10 million, with a winner’s prize of $1.8 million. The 2015 PGA Champion will have his name inscribed on the Wanamaker Trophy. He will also be eligible to play in all future PGA Championships and gains an invitation to the 2015 PGA Grand Slam of Golf at Trump National Golf Club in Los Angeles, California.

THE TROPHY: Rodman Wanamaker, a department store magnate, with ownership of stores in New York and Philadelphia, donated the Wanamaker Trophy in 1916. Today, the world’s best golf professionals compete for this coveted sports hardware, which is permanently enshrined at The PGA Historical Center in Port St. Lucie, Florida. The 2015 PGA Champion will receive a replica of this trophy.

METHOD OF PLAY: The format for the PGA Championship will be stroke play. Following the first 36 holes of play, the field will be trimmed to the low 70 scorers and those tied for 70th place. These players will advance to compete in the final two rounds. In the event of a tie for first place after 72 holes, there will be a three-hole aggregate score play-off on Holes 10, 17 and 18. If the score remains tied at the conclusion of the play-off, a hole-by-hole play-off will take place beginning on Hole 18 and continuing, if necessary, to Holes 10, 17 and 18 repeatedly, until a winner is determined.

ELIGIBILITY: The PGA of America has approved the following list of players eligible to compete in the 97th PGA Championship:

  • All former PGA Champions

  • Winners of the last five Masters (2011-2015)

  • Winners of the last five U.S. Opens (2011-2015)

  • Winners of the last five Open Championships (2011-2015)

  • The 2015 Senior PGA Champion

  • The low 15 scorers and ties in the 2013 PGA Championship

  • The low 20 scorers in the 2015 PGA Professional National Championship

  • The 70 leaders from the PGA Championship points list from the 2014 WGC–Bridgestone Invitational/Barracuda Championship up to and including 2015 Quicken Loans National ending August 2, 2015

  • Members of the 2014 United States and European Ryder Cup Teams, provided they remain within the top 100 of the World Golf Rankings as of July 11, 2014

  • Winners of tournaments co-sponsored or approved by the PGATOUR from the 2014 PGA Championship to the 2015 PGA Championship (does not include pro-am and team competitions)

  • The balance of the field will be filled by the first available player from the list of alternates (those below 70th place in the PGA Championship Points list from the 2014 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational/Barracuda Championship thru the 2015 Quicken Loans National).

  • In addition, The PGA of America reserves the right to invite additional players not included in the categories listed above. The total field will be a maximum of 156 players.