The 2005 Senior PGA Championship
A PGA of America Event. Click to learn more
First Championship

Senior PGA Championship history

Legendary amateur player Bobby Jones organized the inaugural Senior PGA Championship in 1937 at Augusta National Golf Club. Jock Hutchison won the Alfred S. Bourne Trophy and the winner's share of a $2,000 purse that year. Hutchison dominated the first 15 Senior PGA Championship's, celebrating 2 victories and 6 second-place finishes (a record that stands today). Upon settling in the Pittsburgh area, Hutchison spent the early part of his career winning 5 Western Pennsylvania Open Championships at Oakmont Country Club and Allegheny Country Club.

The Senior PGA Championship moved to PGA National Golf Club in 1945 where Gene Sarazen, Paul Runyan, Al Waltrous and Eddie Williams enjoyed multiple victories, and saw the purse increase from $5,000 to $25,000.

In the 1960's and 1970's, Sam Snead shot 33 rounds under par, posted fifteen top-10 finishes and celebrated 6 victories (all Senior PGA Championship records). His remarkable run was capped by a 15-shot victory in the 1973 Championship.

Arnold Palmer won the 1980 and 1984 Senior PGA Championships joining Gary Player, Lee Trevino and Hale Irwin on the list of multiple winners in the 1980's and 1990's. Mr. Palmer led all four rounds of the 1984 Championship, and shot a record 63 in the second round.

The Senior PGA Championship moved out of Florida in 2001, and has since seen champions such as Tom Watson, Fuzzy Zoeller and John Jacobs compete on the best courses in the United States. The tradition of pairing legendary players with the finest courses continues with the 66th Senior PGA Championship at Laurel Valley Golf Club.

©2005 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to Sales inquiries contact Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.