Watson leads five Ryder Cup Captains into Sr. PGA

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- Tom Watson, one of golf's legendary performers and the last U.S. Captain to guide a victorious Ryder Cup Team in Europe, heads a list of five Ryder Cup Captains and 13 major champions who will face one of the country's most challenging layouts in the 67th Senior PGA Championship, May 25-28, at Oak Tree Golf Club in Edmond, Okla.

Watson, who won the 2001 Senior PGA Championship, will mark his seventh consecutive appearance in the oldest and most prestigious event in senior golf. A six-time PGA Player of the Year, the 56-year-old Watson captained the victorious 1993 U.S. Ryder Cup Team at The Belfry in Sutton Coldfield, England -- the only time America has won the Cup at that site and the last U.S. victory away from home soil.

Watson will be joined by four other former Ryder Cup Captains at Oak Tree Golf Club - Raymond Floyd (1989), the 1995 Senior PGA Champion; Tom Kite (1997); Mark James (1999); and Curtis Strange (2002).

Watson and Floyd form a group of seven Senior PGA Champions in the 156-player field. The other members of the elite group are: defending Champion Mike Reid; four-time Champion Hale Irwin (1996, '97, '98, 2004), Tom Wargo (1993), Oak Tree resident Doug Tewell (2000); and Fuzzy Zoeller (2002).

With an April 12 entry deadline, the early commitment list in the premier 156-player field features 13 major champions who have combined to win 31 major championships.

Watson, who owns eight major titles, including five British Open Championships, leads the major champion roster at the Pete Dye-designed Oak Tree Golf Club. Other major champions in the field are: Bob Charles, Floyd, Hubert Green, Irwin, Kite, Larry Nelson, Andy North, Jerry Pate, Craig Stadler, Curtis Strange and Zoeller.

Oak Tree Golf Club is the first course in Oklahoma to host a Senior PGA Championship, but the layout was the site of the 1988 PGA Championship won by Jeff Sluman. Oak Tree Golf Club also has hosted the 1978 and '79 Round of Champions, the 1980 PGA Cup, the 1984 U.S. Amateur Championship and the 2000 PGA Professional National Championship.

The Senior PGA Championship began in 1937 at Augusta National Golf Club at the invitation of legendary Bobby Jones, and has since featured the game's legendary stars that have reached the age of 50.

Tickets to the 67th Senior PGA Championship are available by calling 1-800-PGA-GOLF (742-4653), or by visiting

The 67th Senior PGA Championship Field (as of March 24)

Major Champions: (13)
Tommy Aaron (The Masters)
Bob Charles (British Open)
Raymond Floyd (PGA Championship, The Masters, U.S. Open)
Hubert Green (U.S. Open, PGA Championship)
Hale Irwin (U.S. Open)
Tom Kite (U.S. Open)
Larry Nelson (U.S. Open, PGA Championship)
Andy North (U.S. Open)
Jerry Pate (U.S. Open)
Craig Stadler (The Masters)
Curtis Strange (U.S. Open)
Tom Watson (The Masters, U.S. Open, British Open)
Fuzzy Zoeller (The Masters, U.S. Open)

Senior PGA Champions: (7)
Raymond Floyd (1995)
Hale Irwin (1996, 1997, 1998, 2004)
Mike Reid (2005)
Doug Tewell (2000)
Tom Wargo (1993)
Tom Watson (2001)
Fuzzy Zoeller (2002)

British Open Champions: (2)
Bob Charles (1963)
Tom Watson (1975, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1983)

The Masters Champions: (4)
Tommy Aaron (1973)
Raymond Floyd (1976)
Craig Stadler (1982)
Tom Watson (1977, 1981)

U.S. Open Champions: (9)
Raymond Floyd (1986)
Hubert Green (1977)
Hale Irwin (1974, 1979, 1990)
Tom Kite (1992)
Larry Nelson (1983)
Andy North (1978, 1985)
Jerry Pate (1976)
Curtis Strange (1988, 1989)
Tom Watson (1982)

PGA Championship Champions: (3)
Raymond Floyd (1969, 1982)
Hubert Green (1985)
Larry Nelson (1981, 1987)

Ryder Cup Captains: (5)
Raymond Floyd (1989)
Tom Watson (1993)
Tom Kite (1997)
Mark James (1999)
Curtis Strange (2002)

©2006 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to the webmaster.
Sales inquiries contact Sales. Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.