Three-time major winner Nick Price is scheduled to make his Senior PGA Championship debut at The Ocean Course. (Photo: Getty Images)
Three-time major winner Nick Price is scheduled to make his Senior PGA Championship debut at The Ocean Course. (Photo: Getty Images)

Major winners, debuts headline stellar Senior PGA field

Three-time major winner Nick Price (left) and 20 other players who have combined to win 51 major championships anchor the 156-player field for the 68th Senior PGA Championship at The Ocean Course.

Three-time major winner Nick Price has made a commitment to compete in the 68th Senior PGA Championship, May 22-27, at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island (S.C.) Golf Resort.

Overall, the 156-player field features 20 players who have combined to win 51 major championships.

Those figures would have been higher, but Greg Norman and Seve Ballesteros each pulled out of the event after committing to play.

Regarded as one of the best players in the world in the 1990s, Price in 1994 won two majors back-to-back, The Open and the PGA Championship, adding to his first major (also the PGA Championship) from 1992. He topped the PGA Tour money list in 1993 and 1994, setting a new earnings record each time, and spent 43 weeks at number 1 in the Official World Golf Rankings. Price was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2003.

Additionally, every eligible U.S. member of the 1991 Ryder Cup team has committed to play including Chip Beck, Raymond Floyd, Hale Irwin, Wayne Levi, Mark O'Meara, Lanny Wadkins and Captain Dave Stockton. On the European side, three of the four eligible Ryder Cup team members will be returning to Kiawah Island including Ballesteros, Mark James and Sam Torrance.

Since 1937, golf's best professionals have been competing for the Senior PGA Championship's coveted Alfred S. Bourne Trophy. Past champions include Gene Sarazen, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Chi Chi Rodriguez, Jack Nicklaus and Lee Trevino, as well as returning players Gary Player, Floyd, Watson and Irwin. The Senior PGA is the oldest and most prestigious event in senior golf, and makes its first appearance in South Carolina.
For information on hospitality, tickets and to download a "spectator's guide," please visit or contact the Senior PGA Championship office at (843) 768-8575. For more information on The Ocean Course, visit

The PGA of America is the world's largest working sports organization comprised of 28,000 men and women golf Professionals who are the recognized experts in growing, teaching and managing the game of golf while serving millions of people throughout its 41 PGA Sections nationwide. Since its founding in 1916, The PGA of America has enhanced its leadership position in a $62 billion-a-year industry by growing the game of golf through its premier spectator events, world-class education and training programs, significant philanthropic outreach initiatives, and award-winning golf promotions. Today's PGA Professional is the public's link to the game, serving an essential role in the operation of golf facilities throughout the country.

Major Champions in the 68th Senior PGA Championship (as of 4/16/07)

Seve Ballesteros -- 1979, '84, '88 British Open, 1980, '83 Masters
Bob Charles -- 1963 British Open
Charles Coody -- 1971 Masters
Ben Crenshaw -- 1984, '95 Masters
Raymond Floyd -- 1976 Masters, 1986 U.S. Open, 1969, '82 PGA Championship
Hubert Green -- 1977 U.S. Open, 1985 PGA Championship
Hale Irwin -- 1974, '79, '90 U.S. Open
Tony Jacklin -- 1969 British Open, 1970 U.S. Open
Tom Kite -- 1992 U.S. Open
John Mahaffey -- 1978 PGA Championship
Larry Nelson -- 1983 U.S. Open, 1981, '87 PGA Championship
Greg Norman -- 1986, 1993 British Open
Mark O'Meara -- 1998 Masters, '98 British Open
Jerry Pate -- 1976 U.S. Open
Gary Player -- 1961, '74, '78 Masters, 1965 U.S. Open, 1959, '68, '74 British Open, 1961, '72 PGA Championship
Nick Price -- 1992, '94 PGA Championship, 1994 British Open
Bill Rogers -- 1981 British Open
Scott Simpson -- 1987 U.S. Open
Craig Stadler -- 1982 Masters
Dave Stockton -- 1970, '76 PGA Championship
Curtis Strange -- 1988, '89 U.S. Open
Lanny Wadkins -- 1977 PGA Championship
Tom Watson -- 1977, '81 Masters, 1982 U.S. Open, 1975, '77, '80, '82, '83 British Open
Fuzzy Zoeller -- 1979 Masters, 1984 U.S. Open

©2006 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Send all feedback / comments to Sales inquiries contact Privacy Policy / Terms of Use.