CME Group signs on as title sponsor of new LPGA Tour season-ender

maria hjorth
Getty Images
Maria Hjorth won the LPGA Tour's 2010 season finale, which has been rebranded for the 2011 season.
Associated Press


Published: Sunday, March 06, 2011 | 7:55 p.m.

The LPGA Tour has signed a three-year deal with the CME Group financial services group to be the title sponsor of its season-ending Titleholders tournament in Florida.

CME Group has been involved with the LPGA Tour by hosting pro-am events and sponsoring the Solheim Cup. The title sponsorship gives the LPGA Tour a big boost in a sagging economy, particularly with such a marquee event.

The Titleholders is the new name for its Tour Championship, to be played Nov. 17-20 at Grand Cypress Resort in Orlando. It features an unusual criteria for its 75-player field, with the top three finishers from all 25 LPGA Tour events qualifying for the season finale.