Defending Champion Campbell University Heads 20-Member Field in 9th PGA Jones Cup

PGA of America


Published: Wednesday, October 13, 2010 | 9:06 a.m.

Campbell University of Buies Creek, N.C., will make its bid for a third title in four years, Oct. 19-20, in the ninth PGA Jones Cup at PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Fla.

The Camels, led by PGA Golf Management University Program Director Ken Jones of Lillington, N.C., who has been the director at Campbell University since 1998, is excited about the opportunity his team has next week.

"I am quietly confident in the team we are bringing to Florida," said Jones. "They are all consistent winners and we are looking for a good finish."

Jones knows that PGA Golf Club will present a tough test for his players, and many of the teams that will travel to South Florida.

"One of the toughest factors this week will be reading the greens," said Jones. "We are used to bentgrass greens here in North Carolina and PGA Golf Club has bermuda. We want to stay away from the big numbers."

The Camels return one player, Steven Hamby, from its 2009 squad, which won the title by 15-strokes over Florida State University.

"I knew we had a good team last year and they played spectacular on first day," said Jones. "When a team plays that well it makes it easy to coach."

The PGA Jones Cup is named for the first PGA Golf Management University Program Director at Mississippi State University, Dr. S. Roland Jones, who held the position from 1985 until his passing in 1997. It will be contested for the third consecutive year at PGA Golf Club.

The event serves to provide a platform where participants can display professionalism, integrity, character and camaraderie; all characteristics Dr. Jones instilled in PGA Golf Management students.

The 36-hole tournament will feature the top five players from each PGA Golf Management University Program.

All participating universities in the PGA Jones Cup are schools accredited by The PGA of America to offer the four-and-one half to five-year PGA Golf Management University Program for aspiring PGA Professionals. The college curriculum provides extensive classroom studies, internship experience and player development, and provides students the opportunity to acquire knowledge and skills to succeed in the golf industry as a PGA Professional.

Students in the PGA Golf Management University Program study a combination of golf and business-related subjects, as well as serve 16-20 months in an on-course internship within the golf industry.

The Field in the 2010 PGA Jones Cup

Arizona State University
Campbell University
Clemson University
Coastal Carolina University
Eastern Kentucky University
Ferris State University
Florida Gulf Coast University
Florida State University
Methodist University
Mississippi State University
New Mexico State University
North Carolina State University
Penn State University
Sam Houston University
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
University of Idaho
University of Maryland-Eastern Shore
University of Nebraska
University of Nevada-Las Vegas

Past PGA Jones Cup Champions

2002 Mississippi State University
2003 Mississippi State University
2004 Coastal Carolina University
2005 Coastal Carolina University
2006 New Mexico State University
2007 Campbell University
2008 University of Idaho
2009 Campbell University