Golf Buzz

March 12, 2017 - 4:58pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Adam Hadwin
@PGATOUR on Twitter
Adam Hadwin holed the kind of birdie putt on Sunday at the Valspar Championship that you're not truly expecting to make.

Remember that bad break at the 10th hole we told you about earlier for Adam Hadwin when he hit the flagstick with an approach shot?

Well, the golf gods made up for it at the 13th hole. Check out this massive, 53-foot birdie putt Hadwin knocked down:



It's a good thing that went in too. Hadwin's playing partner, Patrick Cantlay, made a short birdie putt moments later that would have cut the lead to one shot.

Hadwin, a Canadian in his third season on the PGA Tour, is looking for his first victory.

March 12, 2017 - 4:18pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Adam Hadwin
@PGATOUR on Twitter
Sometimes you're just too dialed in for your own good. Just ask Adam Hadwin.

Sometimes a player hits a golf shot that's so good, it actually turns out to be too good... and he or she catches a bad break.

That was the case at the 10th hole at Innisbrook on Sunday in the final round of the Valspar Championship.

Leader Adam Hadwin hit just a perfect wedge shot into the green. The yardage was so perfect, it clanked the flagstick and ricocheted considerably further away from the hole than it would have been had it just missed.

Instead of a tap-in for birdie, Hadwin has to settle for a par:

Hate when that happens. 

March 12, 2017 - 3:18pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
Struggling with your bunker game? Maybe instead of a traditional sand wedge or lob wedge, you might want to opt for a nearby rake like this guy.

I'm not sure where this video was shot, when it was shot, or who the man is that pulled it off.

All I know is that I saw it on Twitter this afternoon and -- if real and not somehow video altered -- is awesome.

I have a hard enough time escaping a greenside bunker with a sand wedge or lob wedge. Here's this guy not only blasting out with a rake, but dropping it in the cup too.

Pretty sure a "rake" is not a legal club to have in the bag though.

Even still...

How many takes?

The rake job immediately after holing the shot was James Bond-like in its smoothness.  

March 12, 2017 - 1:10pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
European Tour
@europeantour on Twitter
European Tour rules official wasn't paying attention when he rode a cart down a fairway while players were teeing off... and got hit by the ball.

For whatever reason, a European Tour rules official was riding a golf cart down the ninth fairway in the final round of the Hero Indian Open on on Sunday... while a group was on the tee and ready to let it fly.

If it was your average Sunday round with a foursome of hackers, the fairway might be the safest place for the rules official. But, when you're talking about pros? Not so much.

The official learned this when England's David Horsey drove his ball into the fairway and it bounced up to hit the official and also take a ride a few yards up the fairway before coming to rest in the short stuff:

Thankfully the official wasn't hurt and Horsey didn't get some crazy, undeserved bad break.

March 12, 2017 - 12:51pm
Posted by:
T.J. Auclair
tj.auclair's picture
golf, fight
It's unfortunate, but sometimes things can get physical on -- of all places -- the golf course.

Things can get heated on the golf course at times.

Whether it's gamesmanship, a lousy hole, needling that crosses the line, a long wait, being hit into by the group behind you -- sometimes you get a little hot under the collar.

But does it really need to devolve into fisticuffs?

Unfortunately for some, yes, yes it does.

Like these two. The language is definitely NSFW, so be careful. I'm not even sure what the argument was about:


That looked more like ring around the rosie. But, hopefully the bully lost a couple of balls on the next hole.

All fights on the course are lame, aren't they? After all, aren't we out there for a good time.

That said, if there's going to be a fight on the course, well, this one from last year is worthy of a pay-per-view event. It appears to have started when one group hit into the other.

Again, the language is definitely NSFW...



The guy in the salmon-colored shirt ate a BOMB left, but took it like a champ.

My favorite part of the video is the end. It's as if the two suddenly remember that golf is a gentleman's game, shake hands and go on their way.

h/t For The Win