Eight seconds later, Every's par-putt drops

Matt Every
During the first round of the U.S. Open, Matt Every had a par putt hang up on the lip at the 16th hole. It took a while, but the ball finally disappeared.
By T.J. Auclair
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Thursday, June 12, 2014 | 1:47 p.m.

Golf can be cruel.

Like when you're Matt Every playing in the 114th U.S. Open at Pinehurst No. 2 and you're faced with a par putt from about 20 feet on the par-4 16th hole.

RELATED: U.S. Open leaderboard | Complete U.S. Open coverage

The guy hit a beautiful putt, but the ball hit the breaks right on the edge of the cup.

For a few seconds anyway...



Sweet par, but Every has work to do Friday to make the cut after opening with a 6-over 76. 

This whole "hanging on the lip/wait to see if it drops" thing happens more often than you might think. In fact, it happened to Scott Langley just two weeks ago at the Memorial Tournament.

The official rule involved, according to the report from our own Mark Aumann, is Rule 16-2. Here's how it reads:
"When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule."


T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for PGA.com and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.