Zac Blair disqualified after altering putter... with his head

Zac Blair
USA Today Sports Images
PGA Tour player Zac Blair was disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship on Friday after using his putter after he altered it... with his head.
By T.J. Auclair
PGA.com
Connect with T.J.

Series: Golf Buzz

Published: Friday, May 06, 2016 | 1:27 p.m.

PGA Tour player Zac Blair summed up his situation at the Wells Fargo Championship on Friday perfectly in a hashtag: "#GottaDoBetter."

Playing the fifth hole in the tournament's second round, Blair became frustrated after missing a birdie putt. He proceeded to hit himself in the head with his putter before tapping in for par.

On the very next hole, Blair realized something: The shaft on his putter had been bent as the result of his head bang.

Blair alerted officials and was then disqualified for using a nonconforming club, outlined under Rule 4-3b in the Rules of Golf, which covers "damage other than in the normal course of play":

If, during a stipulated round, a player’s club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during the round.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 4-3b: Disqualification.

And so was the case for Blair, who was unlikely to make the cut anyway. He was 7 over at the time of the infraction.

Here's his tweet about the breach:

 

And he had a little fun with it too, as you can see here, giving us a little "Flashback Friday" by subtweeting the PGA Tour with the most famous of all putter-to-head-bangers, Woody Austin:

 

T.J. Auclair is a Senior Interactive Producer for PGA.com and has covered professional golf since 1998, traveling to over 60 major championships. You can follow him on Twitter, @tjauclair.