Michaels wins Futures Tour finale as 10 earn cards for 2012 LPGA Tour

sydnee michaels
Getty Images
With her victory, Sydnee Michaels cemented the Futures Tour Rookie of the Year award and earned a berth on the LPGA Tour next season.
Associated Press

Series: LPGA Tour

Published: Sunday, September 11, 2011 | 10:07 p.m.

Sydnee Michaels won the LPGA Futures Tour's season-ending Tour Championship on Sunday to finish fourth on the money list and earn a 2012 LPGA Tour card.

Michaels, from Temecula, Calif., closed with a 5-under 65 for a one-stroke victory over Jessi Gebhardt of Chandler, Ariz. Michaels finished at 8-under 202 on the Capital Hills at Albany course and earned $16,800 for her second victory of the year to push her season total to $56,232.

"I looked at the card photos of the players who finished in the top 10 last year and I said, 'If they can do it, I can it,'" said Michaels, the Gaelle Truet Rookie of the Year winner. "So, I looked forward to the whole season and being able to hold my card over my head."

The top 10 players on the money earned LPGA Tour cards. Kathleen Ekey of Sharon Township, Ohio, a two-time winner this season, topped the list with $66,412.

"Dreams really do come true," said Ekey, the tour's Player of the Year winner. "I don't ever remember a time when I didn't want to play on the LPGA Tour."

Lisa Ferrero of Lodi, Calif., also a two-time winner, was second at $58,808, followed by Mo Martin of Altadena, Calif., at $58,218; Michaels; Jane Rah of Torrance, Calif., at $46,669; Tiffany Joh of San Diego at $37,566; Valentine Derrey of France at $34,572; Hanna Kang of South Korea at $32,992; Jenny Gleason of Clearwater, Fla., at $30,331; and Tzu Chi Lin of Taiwan at $29,861.

Lin edged Mexico's Sophia Sheridan by $1,137 for the final spot.