PGA Player of the Year award race coming down to Woods and McIlroy

Rory McIlroy
Getty Images
Rory McIlroy is running neck-and-neck with Tiger Woods in the chase for the PGA of America's Player of the Year award.
Doug Ferguson
Associated Press

Series: PGA Tour

Published: Wednesday, August 29, 2012 | 12:50 p.m.

FARMINGDALE, N.Y. -- The PGA of America has a points-based award for Player of the Year, and it looks as if it is coming down to Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods.

McIlroy is leading with 78 points (10 points for the Honda Classic, 30 points for the PGA Championship, second in money and scoring), with Woods at 68 points (10 points for each of his three tour wins, leading money and second in scoring).

That could change in the next three tournaments, depending on how they fare in the rest of the FedExCup playoffs.

Woods is ineligible to win the Vardon Trophy because he withdrew in the middle of a round at Doral, when his Achilles tendon was hurting. He still gets credit in the Vardon Trophy standings for purposes of the PGA player award.

Because of the incomplete round, Woods is docked .10 points from his adjusted average, meaning his scoring average would be 69.12. McIlroy is at 69.11.