Field set for 10th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride

PGA Jones Cup
PGA of America

Series: PGA

Published: Thursday, November 03, 2011 | 9:10 a.m.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- Defending Champion Mississippi State University, of Starkville, Miss., will make its bid for a record fourth title, Nov. 8-9, in the 10th PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride at PGA Golf Club, in Port St. Lucie, Fla.

The Bulldogs, led by PGA Golf Management Director Jeff Adkerson, PGA, who has been the Program Director at MSU since 2003, is excited about the challenge his team faces next week.

10th PGA Jones Cup

Here's a look at the complete list of universities and players taking part in the 10th PGA Jones Cup in Port St. Lucie, Fla.


To return to our complete coverage of the 10th PGA Jones Cup, click here.

"Each year seems to be more tightly contested than the year before," said Adkerson. "We always go in with the mindset that we expect ourselves to compete. To win, we will need a few bounces to go our way, but we always try to put ourselves in the mix of things."

Adkerson knows that the newly installed TifEagle greens at PGA Golf Club will present a tough test for his players, and many of the teams that will travel to South Florida. "We have been talking with the players that with young greens, you can expect them to be a little firmer," Adkerson said.

The Bulldogs return one player from its 2010 squad, Mark Ledom, of Kansas City, when they won the title by just one stroke over Methodist University.

Last year, Adkerson had to follow the competition from the MSU campus, as he was teaching classes during the tournament and stayed updated by phone messages and texts from Assistant Program Director Adam Scott, as well as speaking with the team via online video phone service Skype. He posted the scores on the board for the class, which let out a loud cheer when Mississippi State clinched its third Jones Cup-the school's first since 2003.

"The thing that made it even more special was when the team left the campus on Sunday prior to the tournament we were celebrating 25 years of the Golf Management University Program at Mississippi State with 250 people in attendance," he added. "We couldn't have scripted it any better."

The PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride-named for the first PGA Golf Management University Program Director at Mississippi State, Dr. S. Roland Jones, who held the position from 1985 until his passing in 1997-will be contested for the fourth consecutive year at PGA Golf Club.

The event serves to provide a platform where participants can display professionalism, integrity, character and camaraderie; all characteristics Dr. Jones instilled in PGA Golf Management students.

The 36-hole tournament will feature the top five players from each PGA Golf Management University.
All participating universities in the PGA Jones Cup presented by Golf Pride are schools accredited by The PGA of America to offer the four-and-one half to five-year PGA Golf Management University Program for aspiring PGA Professionals. The college curriculum provides extensive classroom studies, internship experience and player development, and provides students the opportunity to acquire knowledge and skills to succeed in the golf industry as a PGA Professional.

Students in the PGA Golf Management University Program study a combination of golf and business-related subjects, as well as serve a minimum of 16 months in on-course internships within the golf industry.

The Field for the 2011 PGA Jones Cup
Arizona State University
Campbell University
Clemson University
Coastal Carolina University
Eastern Kentucky University
Ferris State University
Florida Gulf Coast University
Florida State University
Methodist University
Mississippi State University
New Mexico State University
North Carolina State University
Penn State University
Sam Houston State University
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
University of Idaho
University of Maryland Eastern Shore
University of Nebraska
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Past PGA Jones Cup Champions
2002 Mississippi State University
2003 Mississippi State University
2004 Coastal Carolina University
2005 Coastal Carolina University
2006 New Mexico State University
2007 Campbell University
2008 University of Idaho
2009 Campbell University
2010 Mississippi State University

About The PGA of America
Celebrating its 95th year, The PGA of America has maintained a twofold mission of its founders: to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, The PGA enables its professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in a multi-billion dollar golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.