Top Players Commit to 93rd PGA Championship

Rory McIlroy
The PGA of America
U.S. Open winner Rory McIlroy is set to compete at this year's 93rd PGA Championship at the Atlanta Athletic Club.
The PGA of America

Series: PGA Feature

Published: Thursday, July 14, 2011 | 11:29 a.m.

The field for the 93rd PGA Championship is more than two-thirds filled with 111 players from 19 countries, including 29 major champions, having submitted entry forms to compete Aug. 9-15, at Atlanta Athletic Club in Johns Creek, Ga. The entrants include defending Champion Martin Kaymer of Germany, along with this year's first two major winners – Masters Champion Charl Schwartzel of South Africa and U.S. Open Champion Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland.

The field also features two players who each enjoyed captured their first major championship at Atlanta Athletic Club's Highlands Course – Larry Nelson and David Toms.

The 63-year-old Nelson, a two-time PGA Champion and the 1983 U.S. Open Champion, will receive the PGA Distinguished Service Award on Aug. 10, before stepping to the tee the next day to mark the 30th anniversary of his first PGA Championship triumph in 1981. Nelson also won the 1987 PGA Championship.

Tom captured the 2001 PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Club, backed by a third-round hole-in-one and capped with a memorable par-saving putt on the 72nd hole.

Entries to the 156-player field close Monday, Aug. 1.

The major champions entered in the field include: Paul Azinger; Rich Beem, Mark Brooks, Angel Cabrera, Stewart Cink, John Daly, Steve Elkington, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Lucas Glover, Retief Goosen, Padraig Harrington, Trevor Immelman, Zach Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Davis Love III, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Shaun Micheel, Phil Mickelson, Larry Nelson, Geoff Ogilvy, Jose Maria Olazabal, Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Vijay Singh, David Toms, Tiger Woods, Y.E. Yang.