PGA Championship Shop
Tiger Woods 2009 PGA Championship
Four-time PGA Champion Tiger Woods headlines the field at Hazeltine National Golf Club. (Photo: Getty Images)

PGA Championship field again set to be strongest in golf

With commitments from 100 of the top 101 players on the Official World Golf Ranking -- a record for majors -- the 91st PGA Championship will once again feature the strongest field in professional golf. The 156-player field also includes 28 major champions who have combined to win 52 major titles.

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- The 91st PGA Championship has received commitments from 100 of the world's top 101-ranked players, the most for any golf event this year, continuing a tradition since 1994 of featuring golf's strong field in the season's final major.

The PGA Championship marks its second return to Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn., Aug. 10-16, with 71 international players representing 21 countries, the most of any U.S. major and the largest international contingent in PGA Championship history. The current Official World Ranking attendees, should it not change, would surpass the all-time record set at the 2002 PGA Championship at Hazeltine National, which featured 98 of the top 100 world-ranked players.

Defending Champion Padraig Harrington of Ireland leads a group of 13 PGA Champions in the field, and joined by: Bob Tway (1986), John Daly (1991), Paul Azinger (1993), Steve Elkington (1995), Mark Brooks (1996), Davis Love III (1997), Vijay Singh (1998, 2004), David Toms (2001), Rich Beem (2002), Shaun Micheel (2003), Phil Mickelson (2005) and Tiger Woods (1999, 2000, '06, '07).

Overall, 28 major champions who have combined to win 52 major titles will be among the 156-player field. They are: Azinger, Beem, Brooks, Angel Cabrera, Michael Campbell, Stewart Cink, Fred Couples, Ben Curtis, Daly, Elkington, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Retief Goosen, Todd Hamilton, Harrington, Trevor Immelman, Zach Johnson, Tom Lehman, Justin Leonard, Love, Micheel, Mickelson, Geoff Ogilvy, Corey Pavin, Singh, Toms, Tway, Mike Weir and Woods.

Harrington, who owns three major titles, snapped a 78-year non-European winless streak a year ago when he won the PGA Championship at Oakland Hills in Bloomfield Township, Mich. He is one of 11 members of the 2008 European Ryder Cup Team in the field, with the lone absentee, Sweden's Robert Karlsson, the current No. 18 world-ranked player, who has been sidelined since May due to an eye injury.

All 12 members of the 2008 U.S. Ryder Cup Team are in the field.

The PGA Championship is one of four premier golf events conducted by The PGA of America. Others include the Ryder Cup, the Senior PGA Championship and the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, which brings together the winners of golf's four major championships.

Golf's best professionals have been competing for more than 90 years for the Championship's coveted Wanamaker Trophy. Past Champions span both the legendary and recent stars of the game: Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson, Sam Snead, Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh and Phil Mickelson.

About The PGA of America

Since 1916, The PGA of America's mission has been twofold: to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, the Association enables PGA Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the multi-billion-dollar golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable golf promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.

©2012 PGA/Turner Sports Interactive. All Rights Reserved.
Turner Entertainment Digital is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.