19 universities will compete for the PGA Jones Cup this week

By The PGA of America
Published on
19 universities will compete for the PGA Jones Cup this week

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. -- The 15th PGA Jones Cup will be contested Tuesday and Wednesday, Nov. 1-2, at PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida, with 19 teams representing PGA Golf Management Universities nationwide. The 36-hole National Championship for PGA Golf Management Universities features 95 players (five from each school).

The Jones Cup is named for the first PGA Golf Management University Program Director at Mississippi State, Dr. S. Roland Jones, who held the position from 1985 until his passing in 1997. The event annually provides a platform for participants to display professionalism, integrity, character and camaraderie; all characteristics Dr. Jones instilled in PGA Golf Management students.

New Mexico State returns to the Tom Fazio-designed Wanamaker Course at PGA Golf Club after winning last year’s Jones Cup by nine shots over Campbell University.

RELATED: Ben Polland wins Assistant PGA Professional Championship

The title was New Mexico State’s second, the Aggies also won in 2006, and they accomplished it by channeling the incredible emotions associated with the unexpected passing of 18 year-old Gage Gavin, the son of New Mexico State’s Golf Management Director, Pat Gavin.

“Last year’s win was emotional on many levels as our kids dedicated the win to Gage,” said Gavin. “In the weeks after, I received congratulatory calls from each PGA program, and they told me how focused and inspirational our kids were in Port St. Lucie. It was a proud moment for me, both personally and professionally.”

No school has hoisted the Cup in consecutive years since Coastal Carolina University turned the trick in 2004 and ’05. This is not a fact lost on Gavin.

“We talk to them about the pride and honor associated with representing New Mexico State in the Jones Cup, and in turn, our kids have been talking for months about making this team and defending last year’s title,” said Gavin. “I had the pleasure of working closely with Dr. S. Roland Jones during the early days of the PGM Program. He would be amazed at what this event has become. It’s special for all 19 programs.”

All participating universities in the PGA Jones Cup are schools accredited by the PGA of America to offer the PGA Golf Management University Program for aspiring PGA Professionals. There are currently 2,000-plus students enrolled in the program nationwide.

“The Jones Cup has always been a signature event for our top playing PGA Golf Management University students,” PGA Vice President Paul Levy said. “This is an opportune week for networking and relationship building for our future PGA Professionals, and for cultivating one’s own talent within the context of team play, school pride and the ideals of sportsmanship.”

This year’s field includes Spencer Smith from Florida State University, who is playing in his fifth consecutive Jones Cup. Additionally, Norman Blanco (University of Maryland Eastern Shore), Phil Soo Kim (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) and Nathan LeBlanc (New Mexico State University) will make their fourth career appearance.

Tiana Jones from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore is the lone woman in the field. She is playing in her third consecutive Jones Cup.

Students in the PGA Golf Management University Program study a combination of golf and business-related subjects; serve a minimum of 16 months in on-course internships within the golf industry; and are eligible for direct election to PGA membership upon graduation and eligible employment.

See below for a listing of Jones Cup Champions and the 2016 field, which includes the rosters for each of the 19 schools participating. 


Campbell University Clemson University Coastal Carolina University
Peter Clarke Robbie Failes (2014-15) John Fanning
Corey Layton (2013) Eric Flood Bryan Hunt
Matthew McCord Wes Foskey Andrew Roy (2015)
Luke Polland Andrew Reeves Zach Taylor
Johannes Fantes Zitzer Chris Sells (2013-14) Jacob Vaiknoras (2015)
Eastern Kentucky University Ferris State University Florida Gulf Coast University
Nathan Bratcher (2015) James Delnick Matthew Chen
Tyler Collet (2014-15) Christian Hayden Alex Holt
Madison Erskine David Rudary Tanner Nipper (2015)
Phillip Webb Dominic Scopone (2012) Alex Reynolds (2015)
Robert Wolfers (2015) Benjamin Spector Mei Khuan Yong
Florida State University Methodist University Mississippi State University
Zachary Brown Drew Billard Keifer Clary (2015)
Ross Gutlohn AJ Clark Bobby Flanagan (2013, 15)
Dan Huffingham Kerry Connors Hayden Hauss
Turner Meek Jack Ramsett Luke Reilly
Spencer Smith (2012-15) Steven Taraska Zach Tate
New Mexico State University North Carolina State University Penn State University
Redge Camacho (2013, 15) Kevin Campbell (2015) Brandon Beatty
Josh Elder Nat Chen Michael Esworthy (2014-15)
Tristin Goodwin Ryan Miller Gabriel Rivera (2015)
Nathan LeBlanc (2013-15) Ben Justus (2014) Christopher North
Cole Lorenz (2014-15) Michael Pittelli David Ross
Sam Houston State University Univ. of Central Oklahoma Univ. of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Matthew Boundy Holden Crago (2014-15) Jayden Bruun
Spencer Dillard (2015) Austin Krewson Patrick Gregoire
Shane Hall (2014-15) Jake Loveland (2014-15) Chris Ingram (2014)
Marko Lloyd Garrett Marier Bradley Myers
Dylan Rowe (2015) Ross Smith Matt Weiss
University of Idaho Univ. of Maryland Eastern Shore University of Nebraska
Drew Carlson (2015) Norman Blanco (2013-15) Brad Bailey (2014-15)
Tanner Crisofulli Justin Diggs Jacob Fordyma
David Currie Bobby Donson Zach Gleysteen
Brennen Eilek Tiana Jones (2014-15) Aaron Hart (2015)
Emilio Rodriguez Bryce Young (2015) Kramer Samuelson
Jake Dolby (2014-15) 2015 - New Mexico State Campbell University (4)
Phil Soo Kim (2013-15) 2014 - Campbell University Mississippi State (3)
Tanner Manser 2013 -  Ferris State Coastal Carolina (2)
Matt Rion (2015) 2012 - Campbell University New Mexico State (2)
Sawyer Spackman 2011 - North Carolina State Ferris State (1)
  2010 - Mississippi State Univ. of Idaho (1)
  2009 - Campbell University North Carolina State (1)
  2008 - Univ. of Idaho  
  2007 - Campbell University  
  2006 - New Mexico State  
  2005 - Coastal Carolina  
  2004 - Coastal Carolina  
  2003 - Mississippi State  
  2002 - Mississippi State