99th PGA Annual Meeting to bring more than 265 Delegates to PGA National Resort & Spa, Nov. 11-13

Published on
99th PGA Annual Meeting to bring more than 265 Delegates to PGA National Resort & Spa, Nov. 11-13

PHOTO GALLERIES: Wednesday's activities | PGA of America National Awards Ceremony
PGA of America Hall of Fame Ceremony

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- More than 265 PGA Professionals are expected to gather this week (Nov. 11-13) at the PGA National Resort & Spa for the 99th PGA Annual Meeting. As the PGA readies for its Centennial next year, Delegates, comprised of PGA Board members, Past Presidents and representatives of all 41 PGA Sections, will bring into focus the progress the PGA has made with its long-term strategic plan to serve the member and grow the game.

Delegates will experience a highly interactive and engaging Annual Meeting which includes:

· Induction of six new members of the PGA Board of Directors, including new Independent Director Seth Waugh, former CEO of Deutsche Bank
· 2015 PGA of America National Awards led by PGA Golf Professional of the Year Tom Henderson and PGA Teacher of the Year Cameron McCormick, who is Jordan Spieth’s instructor
· PGA of America Hall of Fame induction ceremony headlined by Lee Trevino, Payne Stewart and Charlie Sifford
· PGA Distinguished Service Award presentation to former PGA Tour Commissioner Deane Beman
· Keynote Speaker Dave Ridley, former Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer for Southwest Airlines
· Legends of the PGA honoree PGA Past President Jack Connelly

The PGA of America Board of Directors is comprised of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Honorary President and 17 directors who establish Association policy. The directors include representatives from each of the PGA’s 14 districts, two independent directors and a member of the PGA Tour.

The five new incoming district directors and one independent director are:

· District 3: James (Jim) Dorman, PGA Head Professional, Laurel Country Club, Laurel, Mississippi (Dixie, Gulf States and Tennessee PGA Sections)
· District 6: Todd M. Smith, PGA Head Professional, Rock Hollow Golf Club, Peru, Indiana (Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin PGA Sections)
· District 7: Randy Hunt, PGA Golf Professional, Lenexa, Kansas (Gateway, Midwest and South Central PGA Sections)
· District 11: Scott Ashworth, PGA Director of Golf, Four Seasons Resort, Hawaii (Aloha, Northern California and Southern California PGA Sections)
· District 12: Glenn B. Lee, PGA General Manager, Escondido Golf and Lake Club, Horseshoe Bay, Texas (Northern Texas, Southern Texas and Sun Country PGA Sections)
· Independent Director: Former Deutsche Bank CEO Seth Waugh, North Palm Beach, Florida

On Wednesday, Nov. 11, at 6 p.m., the 2015 PGA of America National Awards will recognize 12 PGA members who have made significant and lasting contributions to the PGA and the game of golf:

· PGA Golf Professional of the Year: Tom Henderson, PGA Round Hill Golf Club, Greenwich, Connecticut
· PGA Teacher of the Year: Cameron McCormick, PGA, Brook Hollow Golf Club, Dallas
· Bill Strausbaugh Award: Bill Hughes, PGA, TPC Sawgrass, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
· Horton Smith Award: Russ Libby, PGA, Hidden Hills Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida
· PGA Player Development Award: Tim Krebs, PGA, East Potomac Golf Course, Washington, D.C. (now at Butterfield Trail Golf Club, El Paso, Texas)
· Patriot Award: David Windsor, PGA, Adaptive Golf Academy, Sarasota, Florida
· Deacon Palmer Award: Brad Clayton, PGA, Puzzle Duck Golf, Oxford, North Carolina
· Herb Graffis Award: New Jersey PGA Section
· PGA Youth Player Development Award: Bill Castner, PGA, Plainfield West 9 Golf Club, Edison, New Jersey
· PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Private Facilities: Jason Epstein, The Club at Las Campanas, Santa Fe, New Mexico
· PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Public Facilities: Jim Hajek, Fossil Trace Golf Club, Golden, Colorado
· PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Resort Facilities: Miles Blundell, Turning Stone Resort Casino, Verona, New York

For more information on the 2015 PGA of America Awards, please click here.

The PGA of America Hall of Fame Ceremony will take place on Thursday, Nov. 12, at 6 p.m. The induction serves as an everlasting tribute to those who have dedicated themselves to the preservation of our game and the elevation of the role of the PGA Professional. The inductees for the Class of 2015 are:

· Tommy Bolt, PGA
· Ray Cutright, PGA
· Michael Doctor, PGA
· George Hannon, PGA
· Charlie Sifford, PGA
· Payne Stewart, PGA
· Lee Trevino, PGA

For more information on the 2015 PGA of America Hall of Fame Inductees, please click here.

During the Friday “Celebration of the Association” session, beginning at 8 a.m., Ridley will address the delegates on his experiences in the airline industry and how they translate to the game of golf. In addition, Former PGA TOUR Commissioner Deane Beman, the guiding force in elevating the profile of the tour professional while expanding golf's global charitable reach and interest in the game, will receive the 2015 PGA Distinguished Service Award. As well, PGA Past President Jack Connelly, who led the Association from 2001-2002, will be honored with the 2015 Legends of the PGA award.

For more information on the Distinguished Service Award recipient click here