Asian and European teams are set for 2016 EurAsia Cup in Malaysia

Published on
Asian and European teams are set for 2016 EurAsia Cup in Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) – Captain Jeev Milkha Singh has included China's Ashun Wu as one of his captain's picks to join Thongchai Jaidee of Thailand and Anirban Lahiri of India in the Asia team for the EurAsia Cup next month.
Lahiri and Jaidee were among the automatic qualifiers from the Asian Tour, while Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand, Shingo Katayama of Japan, and K.T. Kim and Byeong-hun An of South Korea made the team based on the world golf rankings.
Singh also chose Wu, who won the European Tour's Volvo China Open on home soil in April, Nicholas Fung of Malaysia, Prayad Marksaeng of Thailand and South Korea's Jeung-hun Wang to take on the Darren Clarke-led Europe team at Glenmarie Golf and Country Club on Jan. 15-17.
"I am delighted to unveil my team, which comprises a great mix of in-form golfers, established names and rising stars of the game in Asia," Singh said in a press conference at Glenmarie. "To underscore the strength of Team Asia, six of my team members – Thongchai, Kiradech, An, Anirban, Kim and Shingo – are ranked in the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking, which is a fantastic reflection of the strength of the game in Asia."
The contest will feature 24 matches over three days, starting with six fourball matches and culminating with 12 singles matches. The winning team will split $3.6 million while the losing squad will share $1.2 million.
Team Europe, announced earlier, will feature seven English players – Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Danny Willett, Ross Fisher, Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan and Matthew Fitzpatrick – along with Victor Dubuisson of France, Shane Lowry of Ireland, Bernd Wiesberger of Austria, Soren Kjeldsen of Denmark and Kristoffer Broberg of Sweden.
Copyright (2015) Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.