CBS Sports' 100th PGA Championship Preview show set for Sunday

Published on

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. –  CBS Sports will present The 100th PGA Championship Preview, Sunday, Aug. 5, from 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET, setting the stage for its 28th consecutive year of coverage of the only all-professional major in men’s golf.

Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, which hosts the 100th PGA Championship, Aug. 9-12, is set to welcome the Championship for the first time since 1992.  

Hosted by CBS Sports’ Bill Macatee and produced by Andy Freedman, The 100th PGA Championship Preview celebrates the rich history of the Championship with guest appearances by defending Champion Justin Thomas, Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy – a foursome owning a combined 12 PGA Championships.  

Thomas will recall his dramatic 2017 triumph at Quail Hollow in Charlotte, North Carolina, and as the son and grandson of PGA Professionals, he is the first third-generation PGA Member to capture the Rodman Wanamaker Trophy.

Woods, reflecting upon his four PGA Championships, will compete in all of the season’s majors for the first time since 2015. Legendary Nicklaus will look back upon his record-tying five PGA Championships, while McIlroy will recall his journey to his two PGA titles.

CBS also will look back at the 51st PGA Professional Championship, conducted in June in Seaside, California, where Ryan Vermeer of Happy Hollow Club in Omaha, Nebraska, won his first national title. Vermeer and 19 other PGA Club Professionals, the top finishers in their Championship, will compete next week at Bellerive.  

Additionally, the program highlights Bellerive Country Club and its connection to the Gateway PGA REACH Foundation, which is headed by baseball Hall of Famer Ozzie Smith. The Foundation has spearheaded after-school programs that impacted the lives of disadvantaged students throughout the St. Louis community.

The PGA Championship began in 1916, just four months after the birth of the PGA of America. It annually features the most top-100 players in the Official World Golf Rankings of all golf Championships.