How are past Quail Hollow champions doing at the PGA Championship?

Published on
How are past Quail Hollow champions doing at the PGA Championship?

This may be the first time that Quail Hollow has ever hosted a major, but the course is far from a stranger to this year’s PGA Championship field.

Between 2003-2016, Quail Hollow was home to a PGA Tour event known first as the Wachovia Championship and later as the Wells Fargo Championship — a tournament that was generally thought of as a mini-major.

So how are the champions of those 14 tournaments faring in the new and improved course this time around?

Only eight of the 13 past champions are in the field for the PGA Championship. And midway through the second round of the tournament, their past experience hasn't been enough, for the most part.

Rory McIlroy — who has won twice at Quail Hollow and finished in the Top 10 in six of his seven starts at the course — flirted with the cut line Friday before finishing with two birdies in his final three holes to sit at 2-over for the tournament.

When he finished his second round, Fowler was the only former champion under par in the tournament, and was tied for third place, five shots behind Kevin Kisner.

Here's how the rest of the past Quail Hollow champions are doing at the 99th PGA Championship:

Year Champion Current score
2003 David Toms Not playing
2004 Joey Sindelar Not playing
2005 Vijay Singh 3-over through Rd. 2
2006 Jim Furyk 10-over through Rd. 2
2007 Tiger Woods Not playing
2008 Anthony Kim Not playing
2009 Sean O'Hair 4-over through Rd. 2
2010 Rory McIlroy 2-over through Rd. 2
2011 Lucas Glover 3-over through Rd. 2
2012 Rickie Fowler 3-under through Rd. 2
2013 Derek Ernst Not playing
2014 J.B. Holmes 5-over through Rd. 2
2015 Rory McIlroy 2-over through Rd. 2
2016 James Hahn 1-over through Rd. 2