Graeme McDowell wins U.S. Open, recieves invitation to the 2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf

By The PGA of America
Published on

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. -- The de-facto home of American golf has produced an All-American roster of U.S. Open champions: Nicklaus, Watson, Kite, Woods. But at Pebble Beach's fifth U.S. Open, it was Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell who survived everything the famed course could throw at him, winning the U.S. Open and earning the second spot in the most elusive foursome in golf -- the PGA Grand Slam of Golf. McDowell became the ninth player to make the grueling U.S. Open his first PGA TOUR victory, firing a final-round 74 to secure a trip to Port Royal Golf Course in Southampton, Bermuda, where the major champions will return Oct. 18-20 to decide the title of "Champion of Champions." The first European to win the U.S. Open in 40 years, McDowell finished at even-par 284, one shot better than Frenchman Gregory Havret, two better than two-time U.S. Open Champion Ernie Els and three ahead of the gilded duo of Phil Mickelson -- who already qualified for the event by virtue of his Masters victory -- and Tiger Woods. Els, Mickelson and Woods are all past PGA Grand Slam of Golf champions. The PGA Grand Slam of Golf will once again air on TNT, where it is broadcast in prime-time to more than 89 million U.S. homes and an international audience of more than 100 countries. Comprised of the four major championship winners, the 36-hole PGA Grand Slam of Golf provides the best players in the world the opportunity to earn a spot in the most elusive and difficult foursome in all of golf. Joining Mickelson and McDowell in that foursome will be the winners of the British Open, July 15-18 at the Old Course at St. Andrew's in St. Andrew's, Scotland and the 92nd PGA Championship, Aug. 12-15 at Whistling Straits in Kohler, WI. Should a player win more than one major Championship this season, the foursome will be completed through the Major Champions Points List composed of past major Champions who compete in the current year's majors. Besides, Els, Mickelson and Woods, past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions include: Lucas Glover, Angel Cabrera, Jim Furyk, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman, Nick Price and Ian Woosnam. Corporate Hospitality information for the 28th PGA Grand Slam of Golf is available at or For more information regarding corporate hospitality, please call (561) 624-7631. A limited amount of tickets are available to witness golf's major Champions compete for the title Champion of Champions. To pre-register for tickets, visit or or call 800-PGA-GOLF (800-742-4653) or (561) 624-7601.

This site has a new Privacy Policy. We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies. To review our Cookie Policy, visit our new Privacy Policy.

PGA logo
PGA of America

Experts on the business and game of golf. The best coaching tips and latest golf news delivered straight to you. Sign Up to get the latest.

© Copyright PGA of America 2019.Privacy Policy