Justin Thomas joins exclusive 63 Club at US Open

By Wayne Cavadi
Published on
Justin Thomas joins exclusive 63 Club at US Open

Justin Thomas joined an exclusive club on Saturday at the U.S. Open at Erin Hills. He broke Johnny Miller’s record for lowest single-round score in relation to par in U.S. Open history. Thomas shot a 9-under, besting Miller's 1973 fourth-round performance in the fourth round at Oakmont.

WATCH: Thomas breaks Miller's record

Thomas' third-round 63 shot him up the leaderboard, finishing the day 11-under and one off the lead. 29 other players have shot a 63 in the major, and Thomas is now in some pretty well-regard company.

Miller was the first to do it, with his 63 in the U.S. Open. Greg Norman has done it twice, once at August in 1996 and agains at Turnberry in the 1986 British Open. It happened in the same tournament four times. Jack Nicklaus and Tom Weiskopf accomplished the feat at the 1980 U.S. Open, and Payne Stewart and Nick Faldo did it in the 1993 British Open. Brad Faxon and Michael Bradley did it at the 1995 PGA Championship from Riviera, while Henrick Stenson and Phil Mickelson most recently did it at Royal Troon at the 2016 British Open.

Only five times has there been a winner.

RELATED: U.S. Open leaderboard

Will Thomas become the sixth?


Greg Norman first 1996, Augusta
Nick Price third 1986
U.S. Open    
Justin Thomas third 2017, Erin Hills
Vijay Singh second 2003, Olympia Fields
Jack Nicklaus first 1980, Baltusrol-x
Tom Weiskopf first 1980, Baltusrol
Johnny Miller fourth 1973, Oakmont-x
British Open    
Henrik Stenson fourth 2016, Royal Troon
Phil Mickelson first 2016, Royal Troon
Rory McIlroy first 2010, St. Andrews
Payne Stewart fourth 1993, Royal St. George
Nick Faldo second 1993, Royal St. George
Jodie Mudd fourth 1991, Royal Birkdale
Paul Broadhurst third 1990, St. Andrews
Greg Norman second 1986, Turnberry-x
Isao Aoki third 1980, Muirfield
Mark Hayes second 1977, Turnberry
PGA Championship    
Robert Streb second 2016, Baltusrol
Hiroshi Iwata second 2015, Whistling Straits
Jason Dufner second 2013, Oak Hill-x
Steve Stricker first 2011, Atlanta Athletic Club
Tiger Woods second 2007, Southern Hills
Thomas Bjorn third 2005, Baltusrol
Mark O'Meara second 2001, Atlanta Athletic Club
Jose Maria Olazabal third 2000, Valhalla
Brad Faxon fourth 1995, Riviera
Michael Bradley first 1995, Riviera
Vijay Singh second 1993, Inverness
Gary Player second 1984, Shoal Creek
Ray Floyd first 1982, Southern Hills-x
Bruce Crampton second 1975, Firestone
x-won tournament (list courtesy of The Associated Press)