Phil Mickelson calls two-stoke penalty on himself at Greenbrier Classic
Phil Mickelson was assessed a penalty for the second tournament in a row, as he self-reported a two-stroke penalty after consulting with a rules official at the Greenbrier Classic on Sunday after he tapped down the fescue in front of the tee box on the 7th hole. He recorded a double bogey on the par-4 hole.
Watch Mickelson's penalty below.
After consulting a rules official, Phil Mickelson assessed himself a 2-stroke penalty for improving his line of play (violation of Rule 13-2). pic.twitter.com/61GiY5ggaj— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) July 8, 2018
The penalty comes three weeks after Mickelson's last event, the U.S. Open, where he intentionally took a two-shot penalty on the 13th green during the third round, when he hit his ball while it was still moving to prevent it from rolling down the green.
He apologized afterwards in a statement released by his representatives: "My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions. It was clearly not my finest moment and I'm sorry."