Jason Day holds slim lead in bid for his first PGA of America Player of the Year Award, Vardon Trophy

By Bob Denney
Published on
Jason Day holds slim lead in bid for his first PGA of America Player of the Year Award, Vardon Trophy

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (Sept. 6, 2016) – Jason Day, the World No.1-ranked player and a three-time winner this season, holds a narrow lead in the race for the PGA of America Player of the Year Award and the Vardon Trophy. The season-ending awards are presented by the PGA of America for excellence by a PGA TOUR professional.

Day, 28, owns a 80-76 point lead over reigning U.S. Open Champion Dustin Johnson with two weeks remaining in the 2015-16 season. Both players have yet to win a PGA Player of the Year Award or a Vardon Trophy. They are trailed by two-time winner Adam Scott, with 48 points and Jordan Spieth, the 2015 PGA Player of the Year/Vardon Trophy winner, who has 46 points.

In one of the closest Vardon Trophy races in many years, Day owns an adjusted scoring average of 69.260 through 72 complete rounds. Johnson is next at 69.268, and is followed by Phil Mickelson (69.384) and Spieth (69.416).

Overall, Day has earned 20 points by winning The Players Championship, and 20 combined points for wins in the Arnold Palmer Invitational and the WGC-Dell Match Play Championship. He also has 20 points for leading the money list and 20 for leading the Vardon Trophy standings. Johnson has 40 overall victory points, including 30 for winning the U.S. Open and 10 points for the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. He also is second in money earnings and scoring.

Since 1948, the PGA of America has honored the game’s best players with the PGA Player of the Year Award. It is presented to the top TOUR professional based on a point system for tournament wins, official money standings, and scoring averages. Points for the 2015-16 season began with the Open on Oct. 18, and conclude Sept. 25 with the TOUR Championship.

Since 1937, the Vardon Trophy, named by the PGA of America in honor of legendary British golfer Harry Vardon, is awarded annually to the touring professional with the lowest adjusted scoring average. It is based on a minimum of 60 rounds, with no incomplete rounds, in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA TOUR. The adjusted score is computed from the average score of the field at each event.

The PGA TOUR also recognizes its annual Player of the Year, with the winner announced in early October, determined by a vote of the membership.

For more information about the PGA of America, visit, follow @PGAofAmerica on Twitter and find us on Facebook.