BMW: Larrabazal shoots 66 to win by 1

Published on

MUNICH (AP) -- Pablo Larrazabal won the BMW International Open by one shot Sunday for his fourth European Tour title.

The Spaniard, who also won the tournament in 2011, closed with a bogey-free 6-under 66 to finish with a 17-under 271 on the Eichenried Golf Club course.

Sweden's Henrik Stenson shot five birdies and an eagle for a 65 but finished a stroke back after Larrazabal seized the lead with his sixth birdie on the par-4 16th hole.

Larrazabal is the third golfer to win the tournament for the second time after Paul Azinger of the United States and Thomas Bjorn of Denmark.

Chris Paisley was in contention until a bogey on the 17th left him two shots behind in third with a 71. It was a career-best finish for the Englishman.

Thailand's Kiradech Aphibarnrat (68), Spain's Carlos del Moral (69) and South Africa's Retief Goosen (67) were three strokes behind Larrazabal for a share of fourth.

Northern Ireland's Michael Hoey and Sweden's Peter Hansen were another stroke back.

Overnight leader James Morrison of England finished in a group in 11th place, his hopes ended by five bogeys in a 77.