President Bill Clinton receives 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award

Published on
President Bill Clinton receives 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. -- The PGA of America has awarded President Bill Clinton, founder of the Clinton Foundation and 42nd President of the United States, its 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award recipient for his lifetime love of golf and his commitment to health and wellness.

Begun in 1988, the PGA Distinguished Service Award honors outstanding individuals who display leadership and humanitarian qualities, including integrity, sportsmanship and enthusiasm for the game of golf. President Clinton will receive the Association’s highest annual honor in conjunction with the 96th PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky. Previous honorees include Bob Hope, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Patty Berg, Jack Nicklaus, and Presidents Gerald Ford (1991) and George H.W. Bush (1997).

“President Clinton’s life in public service is a study in making a difference in people’s lives. His own journey to achieve wellness has resulted in a passion that involves the game of golf,” PGA of America President Ted Bishop said. “President Clinton shares the mission of the PGA of America to encourage our country’s young people to develop a healthier lifestyle through golf. For his work and the example he sets to motivate young people, we are honored to present this year’s PGA Distinguished Service Award to President Clinton.”

After leaving the White House, President Clinton established the Clinton Foundation with the mission to improve global health, strengthen economies, promote health and wellness, and protect the environment. In addition to his Foundation work, President Clinton has served as the top United Nations envoy for the Indian Ocean tsunami recovery effort and as the UN Special Envoy to Haiti. 

Since 2012, the Clinton Foundation has partnered with Humana, the PGA Tour and the Desert Classic Charities to present the Humana Challenge. The Humana Challenge has showcased the long-term health benefits of simple lifestyle and behavioral changes. 

PGA Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • 1988 Herb Graffis
  • 1989 Bob Hope
  • 1990 No recipient
  • 1991 Hon. Gerald R. Ford
  • 1992 Gene Sarazen
  • 1993 Byron Nelson
  • 1994 Arnold Palmer
  • 1995 Patty Berg
  • 1996 Frank Chirkinian
  • 1997 Hon. George H.W. Bush
  • 1998 Paul Runyan
  • 1999 Bill Dickey
  • 2000 Jack Nicklaus
  • 2001 Mark McCormack
  • 2002 Tim Finchem
  • 2003 Vince Gill
  • 2004 Pete Dye
  • 2005 Wally Uihlein
  • 2006 Fred Ridley
  • 2007 Jack Burke Jr.
  • 2008 Dennis Walters
  • 2009 William Powell
  • 2010 Billy Casper
  • 2011 Larry Nelson
  • 2012 Dave Stockton
  • 2013 Lee Trevino
  • 2014 Hon. Bill Clinton