PGA Championship cut rule explained: Who makes the weekend

Published on

The second major of the year is at the 2019 PGA Championship at Bethpage Black Course in New York. Halfway through the tournament, there will be a cut.

Here's how the PGA Championship cut rule works

  • There is just one cut, which takes place after 36 holes.
  • The top 70 players (including ties) make the cut. Any player in 71st place or worse is cut.
  • Every player who makes the cut can finish all four rounds since there isn't a second cut.
  • The PGA Championship has the same cut rule as The Open Championship.
  • The Masters keeps the top 50 players but also has a 10-shot rule, allowing all players within 10 shots of the lead to make the cut, and the U.S. Open's cut is the top 60 players (including ties).

PGA CHAMPIONSHIP 2019: Leaderboard | Tee Times | Highlights | How to watchCourse Tour

At most, 156 golfers will tee off at the PGA Championship and roughly half will make the cut. In the 2018 PGA Championship, the cut line was even. In 2017, the cut line was 1-over, so the 75 players who shot 1-over or better through the first two rounds made the cut. The cut line was 2-over in 2015 and 2016.

The PGA Championship's current format is known as the single cut, although the major championship used to follow a match play format from 1916 to 1957. When the tournament format switched to stroke play, there was briefly a double cut, meaning a second cut occurred after 54 holes, before the PGA Championship permanently moved to a single cut in 1965.

Download the 2019 PGA Championship app

  Apple StoreGoogle Play Store


SHOP: Check out the latest 101st PGA Championship gear

What is the history behind Bethpage Black Course?

This will be the first time that the course will host the PGA Championship, but the 2002 and 2009 U.S. Opens were played here, and it is scheduled to host the 2024 Ryder Cup.

HISTORY: Memorable moments at Bethpage Black

How to get tickets for the 2019 PGA Championship

You can purchase your tickets to the 2019 PGA Championship online, here, and can learn more about the available ticket types, here.

2019 PGA Championship: Field list, players

Find the complete 101st PGA Championship field list here.

How to watch the 2019 PGA Championship

The Championship will broadcast live on both TNT & CBS.

First Round, Thursday, May 16
TNT: 1:00 – 7:00 p.m.

Second Round, Friday, May 17
TNT 1:00 – 7:30 p.m.

Third Round, Saturday, May 18
TNT: 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
CBS: 2:00 - 7:00 p.m.

Fourth Round, Sunday, May 19
TNT: 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
CBS: 2:00 - 7:00 p.m.

You can also stream the tournament live here.

2019 PGA Championship: Winners, history

5 Championships: Walter Hagen 1921, 1924, 1925, 1926, 1927 and Jack Nicklaus 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1980
4 Championships: Tiger Woods 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007
3 Championships: Gene Sarazen 1922, 1923, 1933 and Sam Snead 1942, 1949, 1951
2 Championships: Jim Barnes 1916, 1919
Leo Diegel 1928, 1929
Paul Runyan 1934, 1938
Denny Shute 1936, 1937
Byron Nelson 1940, 1945
Ben Hogan 1946, 1948
Gary Player 1962, 1972
Raymond Floyd 1969, 1982
Dave Stockton 1970, 1976
Lee Trevino 1974, 1984
Larry Nelson 1981, 1987
Nick Price 1992, 1994
Vijay Singh 1998, 2004
Rory McIlroy 2012, 2014

HISTORY: Memorable moments at Bethpage Black

1 Championship (50) Jock Hutchison 1920
Tommy Armour 1930
Tom Creavy 1931
Olin Dutra 1932
Johnny Revolta 1935
Henry Picard 1939
Vic Ghezzi 1942
Bob Hamilton 1944
Jim Ferrier 1947
Chandler Harper 1950
Jim Turnesa 1952
Walter Burkemo 1953
Chick Harbert 1954
Doug Ford 1955
Jack Burke Jr. 1956
Lionel Hebert 1957
Dow Finsterwald 1958
Bob Rosburg 1959
Jay Hebert 1960
Jerry Barber 1961
Bobby Nichols 1964
Dave Marr 1965
Al Geiberger 1966
Don January 1967
Julius Boros 1968
Lanny Wadkins 1977
John Mahaffey 1978
David Graham 1979
Hal Sutton 1983
Hubert Green 1985
Bob Tway 1986
Jeff Sluman 1988
Payne Stewart 1989
Wayne Grady 1990
John Daly 1991
Paul Azinger 1993
Steve Elkington 1995
Mark Brooks 1996
Davis Love III 1997
David Toms 2001
Rich Beem 2002
Shaun Micheel 2003
Phil Mickelson 2005
Padraig Harrington 2008
Y.E. Yang 2009
Martin Kaymer 2010
Keegan Bradley 2011
Jason Dufner 2013
Jason Day 2015
Jimmy Walker 2016
Justin Thomas 2017
Brooks Koepka 2018

This site has a new Privacy Policy. We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies. To review our Cookie Policy, visit our new Privacy Policy.

PGA logo
PGA of America

Experts on the business and game of golf. The best coaching tips and latest golf news delivered straight to you. Sign Up to get the latest.

© Copyright PGA of America 2019.Privacy Policy