PGA of America President Suzy Whaley to present prestigious coaching awards at 2018 GCAA and WGCA Conventions

By PGA of America
Published on
PGA of America President Suzy Whaley to present prestigious coaching awards at 2018 GCAA and WGCA Conventions

NORMAN, Okla./CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – The Golf Coaches Association of America and Women’s Golf Coaches Association, in collaboration with the PGA of America, today announced that PGA President, Suzy Whaley will serve as a guest speaker and presenter of the prestigious Labron Harris Sr. Award, as well as the inaugural Kim Evans Award, at the 2018 GCAA and WGCA Conventions on Monday, December 3rd in Las Vegas, Nevada. This news comes on the heels of Whaley being the first-ever woman elected President of the PGA of America.
Both respective awards will be presented to the college or high school coach and Class A PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching and involvement in the community has helped ensure the continued growth of the game of golf and who represents the finest qualities the game has to offer.
“Coaches play such an integral role in the development of their student-athletes both on and off the golf course,” said Suzy Whaley, President, PGA of America. “It’s a privilege to collaborate with the GCAA and WGCA as we recognize some of the finest coaches, who are responsible for helping shape the next generation of great players and leaders.”     
The Labron Harris Sr. Award, which debuted in 2004, and the first-ever Kim Evans Award recipient will be selected by committees of both Men’s and Women’s Golf Coaches. Its purpose is to select annually the outstanding Member Coach who is also a class A member of the PGA of America.
A nominee must meet the following criteria to be considered for either award: they must currently be an active golf coach in NCAA, NAIA, NJCAA or High School as well as a Class A Member of PGA of America; Recognized teacher/instructor; Active in his/her community; Promotes the game through clinics, instruction/teaching, rules seminars and open events; Active in his/her section of PGA; Strong involvement in junior golf; Collegiate coach longevity; History of successful players both on the course and in the classroom.
While this will be the first-ever Kim Evans Award, previous Labron Harris Sr. Award recipients include: Jerry Haas (Wake Forest/Carolinas PGA Section) Jay Hardwick (Virginia Tech/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Devon Brouse (Purdue/Indiana PGA Section), the late Rod Myers (Duke/Carolina PGA Section), Herb Page (Kent State/Northern Ohio PGA Section), Jim Brown (Ohio State/Southern Ohio PGA Section), Pat Owen (U.S. Naval Academy/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Rick Pohle (Williams College/Northeastern New York PGA Section), John Bermel (Northern Iowa/Iowa PGA Section), Pat Goss (Northwestern/Illinois PGA Section), Mike Small (Illinois/Illinois PGA Section), Mike Mayer (Indiana/Indiana PGA Section), Puggy Blackmon (South Carolina/Carolinas PGA Section), Harry Hammond (West Chester/Philadelphia PGA Section), and Scott Cartwright (Cal Poly/Southern California PGA Section).