Players with most consecutive seasons collecting a victory on the PGA Tour

By T.J. Auclair
Published on
Players with most consecutive seasons collecting a victory on the PGA Tour

When Dustin Johnson picked off his first victory of 2018 Sunday at the Sentry Tournament of Champions, it was made for his 11th consecutive season with a win on the PGA Tour dating back to his rookie year in 2008 when he won the Turning Stone Resort Championship.

Notice the distinction with Johnson: "most consecutive seasons" with a win, as opposed to "most consecutive years" with a win.

There's a reason for that. As remarkable as Johnson has been for the last decade, he actually never won a tournament in the 2014 calendar year.

However, toward the end of the 2013 season, the PGA Tour began its "wraparound schedule." Johnson's streak, therefore, holds up seeing as he won the 2013 WGC-HSBC Champions in November of 2013, which was a part of the PGA Tour's 2013-14 season schedule.

RELATED: Hardest holes, by number, on Tour | 2017's best major moments

Johnson's next win didn't come until the WGC-Cadillac Championship.

Johnson's list of victories is stout. His 17 wins on the PGA Tour include a major, four PGA Tour Playoffs events and five World Golf Championships.

Johnson's 11 consecutive seasons with a victory is the longest active streak on the PGA Tour and makes him one of just six players all-time to record a win in at least 11 straight seasons. He also joins Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods as the only players to begin their respective streaks in their rookie seasons.

Believe it or not, Johnson still has a long way to go before he can match the all-time leaders.

Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer each went an eye-popping 17 consecutive seasons with a win.

In Nicklaus' run, he won at least twice in every season and collected 15 majors over the stretch.

When Palmer won for the last time in the streak back in 1971, he did so in a team event -- the National Team Championship. His partner? One Jack Nicklaus.

Here's a look at the list of players who have won in at least five consecutive PGA Tour seasons. Note: Over the last 30 years, Johnson, Phil Mickelson and Woods are the only three to have a streak of 10 or more. 

Streak Player Years
17 Jack Nicklaus 1962-78
17 Arnold Palmer 1955-71
16 Billy Casper 1956-71
14 Lee Trevino 1968-81
14 Tiger Woods 1996-2009
11 Dustin Johnson 2008-18
10 Phil Mickelson 2004-13
7 Paul Azinger 1987-93
7 Curtis Strange 1983-89
7 Tom Kite 1981-87
7 Ernie Els 1994-2000
6 Greg Norman 1992-97
6 Bruce Lietzke 1977-82
6 Tom Watson 1977-82
5 Fred Couples 1990-94
5 Hale Irwin 1981-85